Dash's Donair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
IMPORTANT NOTE ABOUT THE SAUCE: To get the right thickness I have found it necessary to increase the sugar to 1 cup from 3/4 cup and it is absolutely imperative that once you have combined the sugar, evaporated milk, and garlic powder to NOT stir the sauce too much upon adding the vinegar otherwise the chemical reaction will fail and you will have a runny sauce. I simply add 1/4 cup of vinegar right at the end and only give it 2-3 slow long stirs and then refrigerate and the sauce turns out the perfect consistency. I was born and raised in New Brunswick and the one thing I miss most after moving to Montreal in 1998 was "Greco Donair"- I practically lived on their donairs and donair pizza in university. You cannot get anything even remotely close to a Greco Donair in Quebec and finding this recipe was a godsend. The sauce taste is almost 100% spot on to the sauce they use and while they tend to slice meat off a long spit, the meat smell and taste is almost spot on as well. I can put donair sauce on almost everything and now that I have a recipe that tastes like the one I love, I will be sporting garlic breath a lot more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mumof3
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Loved these! I had no idea going into this recipe that vinegar would thicken the evaporated milk mixture so I almost didnt make this thinking the sauce would be too runny. Good thing I learned differently since these were great!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mumof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I don't eat meat but made this for the family and they ate it up. We took it from the oven, let it cool a bit, sliced it fairly thin, then fried it to get it crispier. Will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This has got to be the best donair recipe ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I've been eating these my whole life. I grew up in Nova Scotia eating these, then I moved to Ontario and have been enjoying them here for over 20 years. A real European treat, I love them with diced onion and tomato and of course, the sweet sauce. Many European and Middle Eastern and African countries have their own version but the Lebanese is my favorite. Juicy and flavorful unlike the bland, dried up versions available. This version of the recipe is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OntarioMan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Very easy to make and taste yummy!! My husband loved it so much. I used low fat milk since that eas all I had. The sauce was a little bit on the sweet side and I'm not sure if it's because I used Splenda or its supposed to be sweet like that. I may cut on sugar a little bit the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I haven't had a Donair this good since eating one at Charles Smart in Edmonton, Alberta 20 years ago! I doubled the recipe but used half ground beef and half ground lamb. I also reduced the sugar in the sauce to half of a cup. The secret to the sauce is to combine all ingredients, except the vinegar. Once combined, pour the vinegar on top and let it sit for about 5 minutes. Stir 4-5 times with a spoon and then leave it alone! Lastly, heat up one side of a Lebanese flat bread before assembling. Don't forget the shredded lettuce, sliced tomatoes and sliced onions. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Using Dartmouth Donair as the standard for all donairs sold in Canada, this recipe hits the mark. Anybody who has had a Canadian east coast donair will love this recipe. I have made this several times and through trial and error I recommend the following: a. use regular ground beef, lean makes the meat too dry and the fat in regular ground really adds flavour; b. LET THE MEAT COOL before slicing; slice THIN; c. save some of the pan drippings and fry the slices using about a tablespoon of the drippings until browned(2-3 minutes);and d. make sure to use Lebanese style flat bread pita not Greek style pita. Makes a big difference! Now enjoy these fabulous sandwiches!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This recipe is awesome!! Reminds me of donairs I had growing up on the east coast. I made two loaves for my superbowl party and they were a huge hit. Everyone wanted the recipe. I have one question though, is there any way to make the sauce thicker? I cut the sugar back to a 1/3 cup and now I can't get the thickness out of the sauce and just get a runny mess. Tastes great, but would be better thicker..........any suggestions?? I tried cornstarch but it affected the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I only needed to make half the sauce as it was very sweet and a little went a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States