Dash's Donair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Being that I am from Halifax and living out west, you could say that I am a little picky about my donairs. In fact, I don't buy them here because you can't get a good Halifax donair, until now! Try this recipe folks. Its the closest thing you will find to a slice of the east coast! Make sure not to cheap out on your pita bread either. Buy the good stuff and steam it in a frying pan with a touch of oil before rolling up! Enjoy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Good for when you can't get home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I made “Dash’s Donair” last night and we loved it! I made the meat just as the recipe calls for only tripling the recipe as I have 4 boys to feed. It was quite a hit; I am giving it only 4 stars because we did not care for the sauce. The sauce did pull together nicely, only stirring a few times after the vinegar was added as others said. However it was way too sweet for our tastes, but we gave it a shot. We are use to gyros here and thought the meat was very similar to what we get at our local Greek Restaurants. I also made the “Tzatziki” sauce on this site as a back up to the Donair sauce and we loved it. We will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Very delicious! I would have liked the sauce to be a bit thicker but I'll eat it as is :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Needed a little taste of home and this hit the spot, thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Loved it! It was simple to make, cost effective, and delicious. The meat was spot on. However, after reading the reviews, I decided not to make the sweet sauce and went with a Tzatziki sauce that worked great with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
We're ex-pats from Nova Scotia to Alberta---and BOY do we ever crave 'real' donairs!! This recipe is spot on! I use red chili flakes in mine, and white pepper as well as black. We like spicy in our house. I often double (or triple) the recipe and freeze the raw loaves for my sweetheart to bake when needed. Also--for something different, I sometimes add 1tsp of "Bay spice" which is equal amounts of Ground bay leaves, coriander and fennel seed. This adds a bit of 'sausage-like' flavour which we also enjoy. Just a little change for a some variety. Thanks Dash!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E Henshaw

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I have only been to Canada once, but had something along these lines while I was there and wondered what it was! I love southern food, but this sauce is nothing like a gravy. It is tangy, sweet, and creamy all in one- don't be afraid to try it, you Americans! Now, I am giving this 4 stars instead of 5 because I was disappointed in how little the sauce actually "thickened"-- I whisked for a good while and followed directions but it didn't do the trick for me. I would have preferred a thicker sauce to the runny, messier one I got, but it still tasted great. If you are not wanting to wait nearly 2 hours for this meal, try what I did as a shortcut: Thinly slice sirloin or some other high-grade meat, and season as you would the ground beef in the recipe. Cook on the stove top and then add to sandwich bread or wraps or whatever you like. I like it with some lettuce, chopped onion, and tomatoes. Add the sauce, and enjoy! It's unique and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Excellent..the family love it! Just made 3 for the freezer and only 2 made it there!!! didnt make the sauce for it as we use hot sauce instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States