Dash's Donair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
My dad owns a Donair Shop in Sherwood Park Alberta. I moved to Ottawa and unfortunately, donairs are not a big deal out here. Craving donairs, I tried this recipe and was soo happy with how it came out. It's delicious and as close to the real deal as I've come across. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I have never had this before - but it was so yummy! Husband and kids loved it, too. I didn't change a thing. Will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
great recipe! kids 2 and 4 love the meat. sauce is great but instructions are bad. when adding vinegar just slightly move to combine and then put in fridge...if overdo you endup with sirop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
This was delicious! My boys didn't want to eat it in the pita, but they took it out and dipped in ketchup. Couldn't convince them to try the sweet sauce! Silly boys! They loved the meat, though. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I have & freakin love it...Thanks a million, just like Back home....:) Dartmouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lapetite

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Great donair recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Harriman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
We really love gyros & I went into this recipe knowing it was not quite the same as gyros but was anxious to try it. The meat was tasty, cooked it on a broiler pan & it was flavorful & moist, not dry like some reviewers said, but I did use ground beef with a high fat content. I believe my sauce came out as thick as it was supposed to be(had a consistency like Greek yogurt) following the directions exactly, made ahead of time & it sat in the fridge for around 2 hours, think I saw a review said that it had to be used immediately or it goes thin but mine seemed to get even thicker after being in the fridge. However, the sauce must be an acquired taste, we thought it was really weird having the sweet-tasting sauce on there, perhaps because we're so used to eating gyros, & I wish I had prepared a tzatziki sauce instead. I may make the meat again with tzatziki sauce, not exactly like gyros but quite tasty & I like that it uses cheaper ground beef instead of lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
One of my absolute favorites! The Donair is full of flavor and makes the world's BEST pita sandwich. I cool the Donair well and slice paper thin, then crisp the slices in a hot pan before loading up into a pita with chopped tomato, cucumber, and fresh mint. Drizzle with sauce and a squirt of fresh lemon. Add feta if you are feeling luxurious! Such a fantastic, straight-forward recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I first tried these things in Ottawa by force of my friend. Man, I'm glad she made me. There's nothing good around here, so I make this instead! Soooo gooood! Replace the evaporated milk with coconut milk and only add enough sugar to sweeten to your liking (just a little too much sugar for me) and it's even better. this is seriously the best recipe ever. got to be my favourite food. I made an account just to say this, haha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I was very disappointed sauce was runny with no tips on how to make it thick. Also the spices seemed off to me it tasted more like a meat loaf as opposed to a donair. Though its gotten rave review on this site so who am I to argue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States