Dash's Donair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
If you want to have thick sauce, here is how to do it: Combine the evaporated milk, garlic and sugar, mix until the sugar has dissolved. Then drizzle the vinegar over the top, (I use about 2 tablespoons, maybe more, I do not measure it). Let the sauce stand without stirring it for at least 5 min. Stir it with a fork, see how thick it is and how it tastes, if you need to drizzle more vinegar over the top. Do Not Taste the sauce with the fork or spoon you used before, the enzymes in the saliva will cause the sauce to go runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
i live in halifax and eat donairs and donair pizza regularly. this was nowhere near an east coast donair..more like a spiced meatloaf. definitely didnt quench my craving and won't be making again :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BobnBird

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I make this all the time. The only thing I do differently is put the ground beef through a food processor to make a smoother consistency(don't over do it though), Excellent. I also like it on submarine buns too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lloydminster, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Lloydminster, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I have been craving a real donair for years, since we no longer live in NS. This brings back the memories! I tried to make enough to freeze for later, but they didn't last that long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I have made many recipes on this site and have never been so inspired to write a review. I had to write this one. These donairs are amazing! Make these, you will be blown away. Thanks for sharing dash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Thanks for sharing. I have made this recipe several times and it always turns out excellent! A taste of home for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This might be the best recipe I've tried from this site! Definately restaurant quality! (I'm from the east coast of Canada where these are very popular ) For the donair sauce I only used 1/2 C sugar, 3 tsp vinegar and about 1/2 tsp garlic powder. I thickened it on the stove with corn starch and then let it cool before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
this was so good. it was very simular to the one in edmonton on 149th street. the sauce was a little runny for me. we typically add bbq sauce to it, onions, tomato and letuce. i like black olives on mine. yum. didnt realize that donair was so easy to make!! thanks a lot for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ur2good2btru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Yup. Just like I remembered from Greco's in N.B. Didn't change one thing except how to thicken the sauce. The ONLY way it will get the correct consistency (like pancake batter) is to heat all sauce ingredients in saucepan over medium heat, stir constantly and slowly stir in about 1 tsp cornstarch. NOW, it's a perfect recipe. My sauce (although very tasty) was always runny even after barely stirring vinegar in. I then let it chill as meat is chilling as it is better room cool or at minimum room temperature. I Bought Greek gyros bread-do NOT even use pita bread-must be thicker and soft. That is what donairs have in common with gyros - the bread. My southern born children adore this recipe from my childhood which makes me very happy. Thanks DASH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I loved it - you really do have to kneed the meat alot, it makes a bige difference - although my sauce always turns out to thin - any suggestions, because I like mine quie thick. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States