Dash's Donair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I share this with all my Nova Scotia friends who have moved away and it's always a hit. Also if you have a jerky gun and a food dehydrator make yourself some donair jerky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Graham Matheson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
AMAZING. Tastes exactly like the donair from my favorite place. I used partly skim evaporated milk for the sauce an it tasted the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shaan K Lally

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Thanks for the fantastic recipe! It's great to be able to make these from home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
A new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
near spot on, I have tried numerous recipe's for down home donairs and this one is by far the best, i used my kitchen aid mixer set on low while i added the spices then turned it to medium for a few mins to blend well and make the meat more pliable, turned out perfect, for the sauce tho i use 2/3 cup of sweetened condensed milk, 1/4 cup of vinegar and 1 tbsp of garlic powder, its always nice a thick. Will use this recipe again and again, my new fav for my down home cravings, now to try to perfect the donairzerotti
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I live in the Halifax area and have been for over 27 years. I made this for the first time over the weekend (made it Sat, then refrigerated overnight and ate Sun) and my family all agreed it's better then a lot of the donair places. It was really quite good and so simple. I followed the recipie to a "T" and didn't alter a thing. AAMOF, I can't think of anything I would change for next time. Definately putting this recipie on my book with 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LGill
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I have made this recipe but changed it to vegetarian by using veggie burger, eggs and cracker crumbs and oil to take the place of the hamburger meat. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Made 5 pounds the first time and it went quick ! Time to make another batch tonight. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Used this recipe to make donair pizza. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
So good! Thank you, from a displaced Nova Scotian. Made it just as is, made sure to knead and smash the meat really, really well so it is smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States