Dash's Donair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
love the recipe. For a twist, 5 lb of ground turkey to the spices of 4 ppunds except half the cayenne pepper. I cannot keep it in the house. Trying to make a non-dairy sauce for a friend that is alergic to all things cow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
As an ex-Edmontonian who's baffled by the complete absence of good Donair shops outside of Alberta (and Nova Scotia), this recipe is a godsend. Finally, something for my Donair cravings. Based on my one trip to Halifax and K.O.D., this seems like a very authentic Halifax donair, and should be very satisfying to anyone from Edmonton. The key to a mouthwatering donair is the sweet sauce, and how the sauce gradually mixes with the meat and spice to make each bite better than the last. But this recipe is nuclear sweet. If you're not from Halifax you'll probably want to cut down the sugar by a quarter or a half. And as others have suggested, you really need to up the vinegar to thicken the sauce. It's also quite garlicky. You can cut down on the garlic powder it that's not your thing. A little dill weed made a nice addition to the sauce as well, but it was a shot in the dark. I'm still searching for a sauce closer to the typical Edmonton donair, but this is a delicious starting point
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
The meat turned out well, I made it the night before and sliced and slightly fried it, I followed the directions to a tee, and my sauce was as runny as water....I am not sure, but should it not be the consistency of Mayo or sour cream?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I forgot how good Donairs were and these brought back memories of ones I enjoyed while living on the East Coast. Super easy to do in a food processor to get the right texture. The only thing I wish I could have done was shave the meat super thin so it would have stretched further. The sauce was perfect, add vinegar all at once and just give it a couple stirs to blend in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I was missing Halifax donairs so was thrilled to find this recipe- better than any of the local donairs in Ottawa. I have passed this one along to several maritime friends!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I love this! Best way to make it taste like take out is to brush the pitas with a little water and heat in frying pan or if your not scared of a little fat. Save the drippings from the meat and fry the pita in it! My boyfriend swears it makes all the difference in making them taste like they are from our fav take out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Out standing. Being from Nova Scotia, i spent many a nights on pizza corner eating some of the best donairs in the world. This by far is the best donair i have found being so far from home. The sauce was also incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eyesrightphoto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
this is just like the donairs from back home! I'm so happy to have found this recipe I could cry. The only thing to make it better would be to go back home :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This recipe is awesome! I just put the meat in my food processor, premixed the spices, poured the spice mixture in the food processor with the meat, and mixed away! That was I got the finely ground texture like donair meat is supposed to be. Regarding the sauce, I also premixed the sugar and the garlic together before pouring the milk in. Otherwise the garlic will ball up into chunks (kind of like flour). I'm really cheap, so I don't buy takeout much. I am SO GLAD to have learned how to make proper donair! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I have never had or made one of these before, but after looking at the pictures and reading the reviews I just had to try one. It was pretty neat to throw the meat forcefully down and is a great recipe to make to get out any anger issues. I really enjoyed the flavor of the meat and thought it was great. I did not like the sauce because I am more used to a sauce that goes over gyros. But my husband ate it and did not complain. (he is the most picky person ever!) Deff a 5 star recipe. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States