Dash's Donair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
My family loved this! It was just the right amount of spicey. Recommend you definitely throw and knead the meat according to the receipe. You will end up with a loaf that has the texture of donair meat and is easy to slice. Don't forget to let the loaf stand for 10 min after cooking to make the slicing even easier! Also recommend you chill your sauce to get that real donair experience and definitely garnish with lots of chopped onions and tomatoes. Also suggest to heat your pita before assembling donair (stack in microwave with a damp paper towel covering them and heat until warm). You could also add warmed up sliced pepperoni with the meat. We are having donair pizza tonight with the leftovers (I will definitely add pepperoni to the pizza to make sure there is enough meat). Absolutely YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Thank you for a great recipe. These are better than all the ones I tried and I tried alot. I made no changes. I doubled the recipe and baked for almost 2 hrs. Thanks again Dash
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ♥PaliLuv♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
love the recipe. For a twist, 5 lb of ground turkey to the spices of 4 ppunds except half the cayenne pepper. I cannot keep it in the house. Trying to make a non-dairy sauce for a friend that is alergic to all things cow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
As an ex-Edmontonian who's baffled by the complete absence of good Donair shops outside of Alberta (and Nova Scotia), this recipe is a godsend. Finally, something for my Donair cravings. Based on my one trip to Halifax and K.O.D., this seems like a very authentic Halifax donair, and should be very satisfying to anyone from Edmonton. The key to a mouthwatering donair is the sweet sauce, and how the sauce gradually mixes with the meat and spice to make each bite better than the last. But this recipe is nuclear sweet. If you're not from Halifax you'll probably want to cut down the sugar by a quarter or a half. And as others have suggested, you really need to up the vinegar to thicken the sauce. It's also quite garlicky. You can cut down on the garlic powder it that's not your thing. A little dill weed made a nice addition to the sauce as well, but it was a shot in the dark. I'm still searching for a sauce closer to the typical Edmonton donair, but this is a delicious starting point
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
The meat turned out well, I made it the night before and sliced and slightly fried it, I followed the directions to a tee, and my sauce was as runny as water....I am not sure, but should it not be the consistency of Mayo or sour cream?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I forgot how good Donairs were and these brought back memories of ones I enjoyed while living on the East Coast. Super easy to do in a food processor to get the right texture. The only thing I wish I could have done was shave the meat super thin so it would have stretched further. The sauce was perfect, add vinegar all at once and just give it a couple stirs to blend in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I was missing Halifax donairs so was thrilled to find this recipe- better than any of the local donairs in Ottawa. I have passed this one along to several maritime friends!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I love this! Best way to make it taste like take out is to brush the pitas with a little water and heat in frying pan or if your not scared of a little fat. Save the drippings from the meat and fry the pita in it! My boyfriend swears it makes all the difference in making them taste like they are from our fav take out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Out standing. Being from Nova Scotia, i spent many a nights on pizza corner eating some of the best donairs in the world. This by far is the best donair i have found being so far from home. The sauce was also incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eyesrightphoto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
this is just like the donairs from back home! I'm so happy to have found this recipe I could cry. The only thing to make it better would be to go back home :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 41-50 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States