Dash's Donair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I first tried these things in Ottawa by force of my friend. Man, I'm glad she made me. There's nothing good around here, so I make this instead! Soooo gooood! Replace the evaporated milk with coconut milk and only add enough sugar to sweeten to your liking (just a little too much sugar for me) and it's even better. this is seriously the best recipe ever. got to be my favourite food. I made an account just to say this, haha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I was very disappointed sauce was runny with no tips on how to make it thick. Also the spices seemed off to me it tasted more like a meat loaf as opposed to a donair. Though its gotten rave review on this site so who am I to argue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I just tried this recipe. It's delicious but would cut back on the salt. Found it a tad too salty. My husband is diabetic so used 2/3 cups of Splenda and thickened up nice. I did the taste test and added a bit more vinegar. I prefer a sweet and sour taste. Don't know why people are having trouble with the sauce. Follow the instructions and it comes out nice and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Being that I am from Halifax and living out west, you could say that I am a little picky about my donairs. In fact, I don't buy them here because you can't get a good Halifax donair, until now! Try this recipe folks. Its the closest thing you will find to a slice of the east coast! Make sure not to cheap out on your pita bread either. Buy the good stuff and steam it in a frying pan with a touch of oil before rolling up! Enjoy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Good for when you can't get home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I made “Dash’s Donair” last night and we loved it! I made the meat just as the recipe calls for only tripling the recipe as I have 4 boys to feed. It was quite a hit; I am giving it only 4 stars because we did not care for the sauce. The sauce did pull together nicely, only stirring a few times after the vinegar was added as others said. However it was way too sweet for our tastes, but we gave it a shot. We are use to gyros here and thought the meat was very similar to what we get at our local Greek Restaurants. I also made the “Tzatziki” sauce on this site as a back up to the Donair sauce and we loved it. We will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Very delicious! I would have liked the sauce to be a bit thicker but I'll eat it as is :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Needed a little taste of home and this hit the spot, thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Loved it! It was simple to make, cost effective, and delicious. The meat was spot on. However, after reading the reviews, I decided not to make the sweet sauce and went with a Tzatziki sauce that worked great with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
We're ex-pats from Nova Scotia to Alberta---and BOY do we ever crave 'real' donairs!! This recipe is spot on! I use red chili flakes in mine, and white pepper as well as black. We like spicy in our house. I often double (or triple) the recipe and freeze the raw loaves for my sweetheart to bake when needed. Also--for something different, I sometimes add 1tsp of "Bay spice" which is equal amounts of Ground bay leaves, coriander and fennel seed. This adds a bit of 'sausage-like' flavour which we also enjoy. Just a little change for a some variety. Thanks Dash!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E Henshaw

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States