Dash's Donair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
great donair meat... it was just like the real thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauralee McCloskey

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
All i can say is..WOW! We are from Belleville Ontario, where there is a great donair shop, in true East Coast style called Nova Deli. They got us addicted from our teens on, and when we moved to the Greater Toronto Area, we thought there would be a somewhere to get a good donair...We were wrong :-( Everytime we go back to our hometown we buy some of the meat and the sauce, BUT NO MORE!! lol. Ty, My husband loved it and actually ate a whole one before i had finished warming up more meat.(he had seconds:-) Topped with shredded cheese, tomatoes and onions. I just got a new KitchenAid food processor, so I actually mixed the meat and spices in it, baked it as directed, then chilled it before i sliced it. The sauce.../sighs with joy, was just amazing. Follow the directions, you will have a great dinner. Make extra and freeze, Donair pizza rocks btw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Tastes just like the real thing. Some of the family thought the sauce was too sweet but some thought it was just right...definately will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
We just had this for dinner and we weren't disappointed. The meat turned out really yummy and I have always wondered how they made the sauce. Now I know. My sauce was a little on the thin side so I will have to make some adjustments there next time. I doubled this recipe thinking I could freeze the left over for another night. Yea right. My husband and my daughter (who doesn't like Donair, but love these) had seconds. Even my 3 yr old loved this and asked for more. Great recipe. Thanks for sharing Dashriprock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABROCK
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Fabulous! Great traditional Donair :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Important: REALLY REALLY WORK THE LOAF!! I'm a big guy, ex-baseball pitcher. I use a large wok and SLAM the meat mixture into the wok at least 40 times. It's worth it for the texture. You MUST USE A BROILING PAN, unless you have a spit rotisserie. I've made this recipe several times and added some secret ingredients to give it a personal touch. Thinking of opening my own restaurant, based on the rave-reviews.. and for the fact that you can't get a donair in Montreal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I am in culinary arts at Vancouver Island University and it was my job to make something for the highschool kids. I pulled out this recipe because I have always wanted to try it and its much easier at school with all of the ingredients at your disposal. It was amazing. a huge hit... we sold out and the kids and teachers loved it. the only thing i would suggest is making it a larger thinner loaf as opposed to a heavfy thick loaf. it took really long to cook and was dried out because of this. thanks again. this was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candacewyscaver

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Loved this recipe. Used equal parts ground lamb and ground beef for meat. Also only used 1 teaspoon of garlic powder in donair sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Born in Nova Scotia, lived in NB and can't live without my donairs ! Simply divine ! Paradise ! lol Good thing we have these recipes or we'd be flying to NS just to get some ! I'm in Quebec and the only ones I found here are nothing like a real donair. Not even worth buying. This pizza place says their donairs are like Pizza Time but NOT at all ! sorry for rambling on .. have mine in the oven right now and just wanted to say that last time I made some, I made my own pita bread with a recipe I found on Interent and they were so GOOD ! Well worth the work. They were soft and chewy like the ones at Greco, nothing like the store bought pitas, but then it's more work to get what you want. lol * ok now I tried this one and this is the best recipe for the meat, didn't try the sauce but the meat had the same texture as in Pizza places. I do agree on doubling the spices or adding a bit more if you like it spicy. as for the Italian seasoning, I personally didn't like it much and would cut down or leave it out. Gives a different taste then to what I'm accustomed to. Also, I always add some paprika and find it even tastier that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Good but not as good as I thought it might be...but still very tasty meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States