Dash's Donair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Fabulous! Great traditional Donair :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Important: REALLY REALLY WORK THE LOAF!! I'm a big guy, ex-baseball pitcher. I use a large wok and SLAM the meat mixture into the wok at least 40 times. It's worth it for the texture. You MUST USE A BROILING PAN, unless you have a spit rotisserie. I've made this recipe several times and added some secret ingredients to give it a personal touch. Thinking of opening my own restaurant, based on the rave-reviews.. and for the fact that you can't get a donair in Montreal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I am in culinary arts at Vancouver Island University and it was my job to make something for the highschool kids. I pulled out this recipe because I have always wanted to try it and its much easier at school with all of the ingredients at your disposal. It was amazing. a huge hit... we sold out and the kids and teachers loved it. the only thing i would suggest is making it a larger thinner loaf as opposed to a heavfy thick loaf. it took really long to cook and was dried out because of this. thanks again. this was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candacewyscaver

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Loved this recipe. Used equal parts ground lamb and ground beef for meat. Also only used 1 teaspoon of garlic powder in donair sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Born in Nova Scotia, lived in NB and can't live without my donairs ! Simply divine ! Paradise ! lol Good thing we have these recipes or we'd be flying to NS just to get some ! I'm in Quebec and the only ones I found here are nothing like a real donair. Not even worth buying. This pizza place says their donairs are like Pizza Time but NOT at all ! sorry for rambling on .. have mine in the oven right now and just wanted to say that last time I made some, I made my own pita bread with a recipe I found on Interent and they were so GOOD ! Well worth the work. They were soft and chewy like the ones at Greco, nothing like the store bought pitas, but then it's more work to get what you want. lol * ok now I tried this one and this is the best recipe for the meat, didn't try the sauce but the meat had the same texture as in Pizza places. I do agree on doubling the spices or adding a bit more if you like it spicy. as for the Italian seasoning, I personally didn't like it much and would cut down or leave it out. Gives a different taste then to what I'm accustomed to. Also, I always add some paprika and find it even tastier that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Good but not as good as I thought it might be...but still very tasty meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
We made this tonight and it is bang on. I followed the recipe exactly and it was exactly like the donair I had on pizza corner in Halifax last summer. We will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Made this tonight. Very tasty and so easy to make. I triple the recipe. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I am originally from Nova Scotia, donairs are common food for us Eastcoasters, this recipe is a true "Halifax" donair recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nevin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooks, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I did not make the sauce part of this recipe because I live in eastern canada, and bought it instead. However, I was looking for an alternative to the expensive prepackaged meat. This is great! A teensy bit too salty, and I recommend using cracked black pepper as it is more authentic. Overall, however, very delicious and donair-y. I formed patties on skewers and barbequed them, as I didn't have the time to allow it to bake. Worked out fine. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nobody'sGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 131-140 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States