Dash's Donair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
It was a great search to find a good recipe, but this was it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynJudd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This was super easy and super delicious! My husband was skeptical, but he was pleasantly surprised by how good it was! I put the meat in the food processor to blend it well (I read about this on another site, to get the right texture) and that worked out pretty good. The portion isn't very large though, so next time I'll double, or triple the beef. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKALA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This was a great recipe. I doubled the recipe as I have a lot of mouths to feed (6) It was so easy to make, and I admit I had a little fun smashing the meat in the bowl...hehehe. Next time I make this though, I will up the spice by a bit. It is a little milder than my local donair shop, and we prefer it a little stronger. The sauce turned out great, but I accidentally put in a bit of onion powder instead of garlic in my hurry getting this to the table...oops! When I added my vinegar, I poured a little at a time in and BARELY stirred it. It thickened beautifully. Also for those with issues with the sweetness of the sauce..it's supposed to be that way! It melds with the spices in the meat..yum! I would love to try it. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by farmgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Fantastic and tastes almost as good as a restaurant...a rotisserie would make it perfect as it tastes best slowly cooked without drying out. I recommend undercooking it since it will be fried up anyways. Always wet the pita and blast it for a few seconds in the microwave to make more pliable. I usually add mozza cheese at this point. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
great donair meat recipe. it was a great taste from home since they don't know how to do donairs on the west coast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
easy to make and taste pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gavin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I'll give this recipe 5 stars. Made it for the ist time today and really enjoyed the recipe. However I think I will add Cumin and Red Peppers next time for more depth and Kick to the meat. When making the sauce I did not realize that the vinegar is supposed to thicken the sauce So I cooked the sauce to a rolling boil for a few minutes. Added a little dill. The sauce gives the donair its authentic flavour. Once cooled in the fridge is was exactly the right consistency and the taste is awesome. Will make this recipe again for sure. Everyone Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dena G

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
What a wonderful recipe!!! The first time I made it, I followed the recipe to the "T" , it was good, but lacking in depth flavor for our taste (I like a heavily spiced donair meat). So I made the following adjustments: 1 tsp salt (kept the same, perfect amount) 2.5 tsp oregano 1 tsp flour 1.5 tsp fresh cracked black pepper (fresh makes a huge difference in flavor) 1/2 tsp Italian seasoning 2.5 tsp garlic powder 2.5 tsp onion powder 1/2 tsp cayenne In addition I added: 1 tsp ground cumin 1 tsp red pepper flakes The sauce is bang on! the first time I tried it, it was pretty watery. Don't be afraid to add a touch more vinegar... it's the vinegar that thickens the sauce - but as other reviewers have noted... don't stir too much after adding. Each batch ends up different, so add another 1/2 tsp of vinegar at a time stirring slowly until you get the consistency you like for the sauce. Thanks again Dash, we will never go out to buy a donair ever again!! OH BTW... the leftover meat is AMAZING for pizza. Make your favorite pizza dough, use the donair sauce instead of regular pizza sauce, layer on your thinly sliced donair meat, and add some shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamaralynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
It's been a long time since i had a donair this good. I use sweetened condensed milk, no added sugar, and add 1/4 cup vinegar. Smoother the donair meat in sauce and make it nice and messy. Wrap the whole think in tinfoil and enjoy. It is meant to be messy, drippy and fun to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chickensoop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Great recipe but had trouble with the sauce. I used fat-free evaported milk and could not get the sauce to thicken. I used more than the 4 tsp. suggested. Next time will try regular evaporated milk and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States