Daryl's Mexican Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
This was a wonderful dip! I served it a small group gathering and got rave reviews! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
SO SO Good! I didn't use as many onions as this called for and I added some jalapenos. Many compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
I am the original poster of this recipe, given to me by my friend Daryl. I enjoyed reading all the different variations that others have used. I'll have to try a few of them. I usually warm the ream cheese slightly, add the onions and then the cream cheese. I layer these in the pan and refridgerate pvernight (if I have tiome) for the flavors to blend. The salsa is sometimes runny, I usually add it just before serving. Draining it would be an option. You can easily vary the heat/spiciness of the recipe based on the type of salsa you use (mild or hot). Thanks everyone for the reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
This is yet another easy recipe. I chose this to serve at an employee party. I made the tragic mistake of scaling the recipie to one half. Next time I will double it! This dip was totally gone literally in minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2003
Very good! I made it for a small family gathering and the little that was left over I ate all the rest that same night, it was just too good. I put regular white onions in instead of green onions and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
Originally rated a 4 star but have upgraded to 5 star. This really is a huge hit whenever I take it to a party and there are always requests for the recipe so feel it deserves the 5 star treatment - what a winner(even on the other side of the world.) Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
I made this dip for a party at work and it was a real hit! Several people asked me for the recipe. I think the dip would have been too bland if I hadn't used a jar of HOT salsa. There is plenty of cream cheese/sour cream mixture to disperse the heat of the salsa yet leave a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
We have a similar recipe in our family that is always a big hit. We use medium taco sauce instead of salsa (less watery and better tangy flavor) and add chopped tomato, onion and green pepper after the sauce layer. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
I loved this dip. I'm not a huge fan of refried beans so I was psyched to find a mexican dip w/o them. I serve this every chance I get. My family and friends just love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
this truly is the best. I add a package of taco seasoning in the cream cheese as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States