Daryl's Mexican Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
SO SO Good! I didn't use as many onions as this called for and I added some jalapenos. Many compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
This was a wonderful dip! I served it a small group gathering and got rave reviews! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
1st time I made it, it was ok. Second time, better...I added a little taco seasoning to the sour cream mixture. Much better! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walkerton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
Tasted okay, but really needed something else to give it a "kick." I think some refried beans on top of the cream cheese/sour cream mixture would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
This is yet another easy recipe. I chose this to serve at an employee party. I made the tragic mistake of scaling the recipie to one half. Next time I will double it! This dip was totally gone literally in minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2003
Very good! I made it for a small family gathering and the little that was left over I ate all the rest that same night, it was just too good. I put regular white onions in instead of green onions and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I made this for a potluck at work and it was gone in a short amount of time. I added a packet of low-sodium taco seasoning to the cream cheese mixture as suggested by other reviewers. I also omitted the diced tomatoes and only used a small can of sliced olives because I used a smaller dish and the olives and tomatoes would have overwhelmed it and made it too runny. I think the taco seasoning is what made it so good. I served it with whole grain Tostitos. EDITED: I made this again recently for another work function. I didn't have olives, so I used drained and rinsed black beans instead. I also used hot and spicy Old El Paso taco seasoning, which gave it a little kick, but not too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
this truly is the best. I add a package of taco seasoning in the cream cheese as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
We have a similar recipe in our family that is always a big hit. We use medium taco sauce instead of salsa (less watery and better tangy flavor) and add chopped tomato, onion and green pepper after the sauce layer. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
I made this dip for a party at work and it was a real hit! Several people asked me for the recipe. I think the dip would have been too bland if I hadn't used a jar of HOT salsa. There is plenty of cream cheese/sour cream mixture to disperse the heat of the salsa yet leave a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Outrageous Warm Chicken Nacho Dip

Cheese dip loaded with chicken, tomatoes, black beans and a zip of spice.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States