Daryl's Mexican Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
I am the original poster of this recipe, given to me by my friend Daryl. I enjoyed reading all the different variations that others have used. I'll have to try a few of them. I usually warm the ream cheese slightly, add the onions and then the cream cheese. I layer these in the pan and refridgerate pvernight (if I have tiome) for the flavors to blend. The salsa is sometimes runny, I usually add it just before serving. Draining it would be an option. You can easily vary the heat/spiciness of the recipe based on the type of salsa you use (mild or hot). Thanks everyone for the reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
This was a wonderful dip! I served it a small group gathering and got rave reviews! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
SO SO Good! I didn't use as many onions as this called for and I added some jalapenos. Many compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
Tasted okay, but really needed something else to give it a "kick." I think some refried beans on top of the cream cheese/sour cream mixture would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
This is yet another easy recipe. I chose this to serve at an employee party. I made the tragic mistake of scaling the recipie to one half. Next time I will double it! This dip was totally gone literally in minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2003
Very good! I made it for a small family gathering and the little that was left over I ate all the rest that same night, it was just too good. I put regular white onions in instead of green onions and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
this was VERY bland. I think it was probably the least favorite of all dips that I have ever served. it definitely needs to something to give it flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
1st time I made it, it was ok. Second time, better...I added a little taco seasoning to the sour cream mixture. Much better! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walkerton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 7, 2004
This was great. Wish I had it a couple days earlier for Cinco de Mayo. I make a quck dip that is similar. I spread the cream cheese in the bottom of a glass baking dish. Then I cover it with a can of chillie. On top of that I place a jar of picante sauce and cover theat with a layer of shredded chedar cheese. Pop it in the microwave for 10 minutes and it is great with tortillia chipx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GASMANAG
Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
Originally rated a 4 star but have upgraded to 5 star. This really is a huge hit whenever I take it to a party and there are always requests for the recipe so feel it deserves the 5 star treatment - what a winner(even on the other side of the world.) Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Mexican Potato Nachos

See how to make hearty beef and bean nachos with a layer of potatoes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States