Darn Good Mashed Taters! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
What can I say, these are some really "Darn Good Mashed Taters!!!" Sometimes the recipe title just fits to a "T" and this is one of those times! I cut the recipe in half and used red potatoes that I mashed with the skins. I used Land O Lakes light butter and used a mix of half and half and skim milk. I eyeballed that to get the consistency I wanted so I probably used a bit more. Overall, a great side dish because there's nothing like classic comfort food and what better than taters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This recipe is ALMOST identical to the way I make my mashed potatoes. The only significant difference - I season the potatoes after they are drained (except for a little salt in the water). They can only absorb SOME of the seasoning from the water. Why pour all of that flavor down the drain?! Minor differences - regular salt works fine in place of sea salt, milk instead of heavy cream, & ground white pepper instead of black (I like the way it just disappears in the potatoes versus black pepper). If you're one of those people who like lumps in your mashed potatoes, by all means, mash them by hand. If you're a fan of smooth, like me, an electric mixer is the way to go! One important note: for best results, drain the potatoes as soon as they are done boiling and don't let them sit too long before beating/whipping them. If you leave them sitting in the hot water after you remove them from the heat or even if you drain them & leave them in a covered pot, you will end up with pastey, gooey, shiny potatoes rather than fluffy ones. Something I had to learn the hard way! One last tip: I find that melting the butter & heating the milk before adding helps keep your potatoes hot. I should mention that I have not made this exact recipe with these exact measurements - just all of the same seasonings. Use more or less milk for your favorite consistancy. I have made them so many times that I just "eyeball" everything & let my tastebuds dictate any adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
I think this is a good start, but there are ways to make this so much better for you and still have good taste. If you substitute reduced fat sour cream for the heavy cream, and a good quality margerine ( I use canola harvest marg. It tastes very close to butter )it will taste fabulous w/o all the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Absolutely heavenly! I never boiled my potatoes with the seasoning like this before (I always added it when mashing them), but this way works out extremely well. I used six large potatoes and added two sticks of butter. I also covered the pot while it was boiling and boiled until the cubes of potato had very rounded corners. The flavor and texture are to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
These were very good. I used margarine and kept everything as written. Next time I will use milk or half and half instead of heavy cream just to make the dish a little healthier. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I cut this recipe in half, used organic reds, kept the onion/garlic powder the same amount and only used a pinch of sea salt. I didn't need the full amount of cream. I used fat free half-n-half that I warmed to almost scalding and added it until it was the right consistancy. Great with meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I love these potatoes for the ease of making a tasty mashed tater. I use all the seasonings as stated, but used less butter and milk instead of cream. These are very tasty. My whole family likes them better than the regular ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5galsandadad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merrick, New York, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
These were really good! Nice and creamy with great seasoning. However, I used the sea salt in the water and added the rest of the seasoning while mashing the potatoes. Then added more salt to taste and a little more cream as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Absolutely amazing I didn't have any heavy cream so I use half and half and it was perfect. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
great idea the only thing i ever did was salt and sometimes 1-2 fresh cloves of garlic but mash them for more potatoe flavor whipping breaks down the being of the potatoe too too much it is more akin to wallpaper paste then potatoes when whipped
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Bognanni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States