Darn Good Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Made 16 servings: 1# sweet Italian sausage & 2 1/4 lean ground beef, bunch of green onions & 1 sweet onion, 4 cloves garlic through press, 2 cans Rotel diced tomatoes & chilies (1 mild, 1 original) Newman's own mild salsa, 29 oz can of tomato sauce, 2 cans Kidney beans & 1 can of black beans)A definite keeper recipe. Spices according to recipe. Served with corn bread, brown rice and topped with cheddar cheese. Will try next time with 1# of hot spicy sausage per husband's request. 02/09/2014
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I tried this recipe and it was a big success. The second time I threw in some xtra heat using jalapeños and hot rotel tomatoes. Dont think the bay leaf was necessary so I havent used any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
awesome...I added two cans of brown beans, can of mushrooms and used extra spicy salsa as I didn't have taco seasoning...and used the chili "accents" diced tomatoes. Easy, quick and enjoyed by the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I made this in the crock pot and added chipolata diced tomatoes and green chili tomatoes instead of plain. My family loved this and did not notice I didn't make it from scratch like I generally do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
My new favorite chili recipe! I have made this a half dozen times now and love it. My only change is throwing it all in the crock pot after browning the ground beef and cooking it for 4-8 hours depending on my schedule. I even brought it to work for a chili-off and won by a landslide. Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Awesomeness in a pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie LX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Osage Beach, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I sauteed the onion, red pepper and garlic in a bit of canola oil separately and added 1/3 lb hot pork sausage to the hamburger. Also added an extra half can of pinto beans, a cup of frozen corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
great recipe! i substituted rotel (diced tom & green chilies) for the diced tomato for more heat - the Pace chunky salsa was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I made so may changes to this to make it "darn good chili" I'm not even going to bother listing them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States