Dark Guinness® Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2015
I took advice from the previous comments and folded in the semisweet chips with the pecans. Also, we didn't need all the Guinness to get to a good batter consistency. The product was really dense, I think it actually could use some sort of leavening. Flavors are great, dark chocolate and Guinness make it very rich; it would probably taste best with vanilla ice cream or even a frozen yogurt. I honestly think this recipe would function best as a fudge, it's almost already there! Likely I'll be giving it another shot in fudge form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Superb - and a lovely trick to turn for St. Pat's! I had concerns putting that pan in the oven; the batter is quite "loose"; but the eggs did their job. I might substitute a merlot instead sometime...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Very rich brownies. A fudge type brownie that is decadent but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Didn't add nuts, but these turned out great. Baked for 31 minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendynik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
These were great. I replaced 1/2 cup of the morsels with the new cherry filled morsels and it made the brownies have a Black Forest flavor, well loved by the recipients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
They were perfect! I added half a bag of Heathbar Crunch, but didn't notice them that much. I used a 9x9 pan. They were very thick, and took longer to cook, but were delicious. I also butter my pans, and use white sugar to dusk, instead of flour. It gives a sweeter, crunchier, more pleasing result than the taste of flour. They were more of a cake than a fudgier brownie, but he loved them, and they were for him. They are very rich with the additional chocolate chips on top. Again, I would do them without it, but "he" prefers them this way. It is nice to make something that comes out exactly as you had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice Freedman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
WOW, these are AWESOME!!!!!! I omitted the nuts and stirred the chocolate chips right into the batter (I used mini choco chips). Fudgy, moist, rich and just plain delicious...I will def be making these again and again~YUM, YUM, YUM!!!!!! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
These brownies took a while to make, but they were delicious and had a unique texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Reyroxx97
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
This recipe is so quick and easy! The brownies came out great! They are very rich and moist. I made a few changes due to lack of ingredients such as: using milk instead of beer, using walnuts instead of pecans, microwaving the butter and chocolate mixture, and not adding chocolate chips on top. I had to bake it for around 45-50 minutes instead, but it tastes absolutely divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Great recipe! Unlike a lot of recipes with alcohol, I could actually taste the beer in these brownies and the flavor wasn't overwhelming. Changes: I cut the sugar down by 1/4 cup (I generally do this in recipes); used Ghirardelli bittersweet chocolate chips instead of chopping 8 oz; and melted the chocolate in the microwave for 1 min, stirred, then 20 seconds more in the mic instead of the double boiler. Other than those changes, I followed the recipe exactly. Next time I will mix the semisweet chocolate chips in so that there can be gooey chocolate bits throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States