Dark German Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Definitely not a german chocolate cake, but despite this, it is most certainly the best chocolate cake I have ever made! I love it, I make it as cakes or cupcakes. It is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carollynna2
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
This recipe makes an amazing, rich, dark, and very "chocolately" cake! Love it...it's the only one I use now. Beware that it fully doubles in the oven, so only fill cupcake or layer pans 1/2 full. It makes a lot, so you can get three 9-inch layers out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
HIGH ELEVATIONER'S PAY ATTENTION! You need to cut down the amount of water you put into this recipe and add more flour. Otherwise they will sink in the center and flow over the edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This cake is perfect for chocolate lovers!! It's tasty on its own and simply...so chocolatey!! =) Even people who are hard to please will nod their heads approvingly at this recipe ;)so go ahead..try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kandy, Central, Sri Lanka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Oh my gosh! This cake is amazing! I love the taste of German chocolate frosting, but I dont like the lighter chocolate cake, I want a fantastic chooolate cake to go with my wonderful frosting, and I am so very happy that I have finally found it! This is by far the moistest, best tasting homeade from scratch chocolate cake I have ever tasted! I did use a regular cake pan 10x13 so it did take a little bit longer to bake but it was sooooo worth the wait! Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Very moist and yummy. My 5 year old loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This recipe creates a very moist and fluffy cake, but would definitely benefit from replacing the hot water with coffee instead. While tasty on its own, the cake does come out rather flat. It didn't sink, but it didn't exactly rise the way I expected it to, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coffee&Chocolate

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA
Living In: Leesport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam M
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Im a Chocoholic at heart..and Oh My Gosh, this recipe does not dissapoint, it is fantastic! I decided to make cupcakes, this recipe made approx 44 regular sized cupcakes, filled 2/3 full. I did not change a thing ingredient wise. Very moist and delicious! I Piped around the outer edge with the Creamy Chocolate frosting recipe from this site and pipped a dollup of coconut/pecan German Chocolate frosting in the middle on top. Topped each cupcake off with a candied pecan piece and a drizzle of Chocolate ganache. Took 3 dozen to work for a bake sale and these recieved RAVE reviews from everyone! Thank you keklang for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam M

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This recipe was fine, yet the cake still felt a bit underdone even after the thirty minute baking time. It tastes amazing with ganache icing. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dessert:)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This was fantastic, I topped it with whipped cream and cream cheese, then put a tin of black cherries and grated chocolate on top. mmmmmmmmm like a black forest cake. made it for a farewell for 20 people and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States