Dark German Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This is a great dark chocolate cake—not too sweet, decently chocolate-y, and nice and moist, especially right out of the oven. Mine was perfectly done in 25 min. I suggest frosting it with a cinnamon buttercream frosting, or having a slice à la mode with a scoop of vanilla or cookies and cream ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
In my humble opinion, a just-about-perfect chocolate cake. Tasty with or without frosting. 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I am usually a horrible baker. But i followed these simple directions and it produced the most rich ad moist chocolate cake i have ever had. The batter may seem too runny and it may take a little longer to bake but it turns out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Thoroughly impressed. I'm an avid baker with staple chocolate cake recipes that I've used throughout the years. I thought I'd try something different, and based on the reviews, this recipe was worth a test. It's not the traditional "German" chocolate cake, which is a very mild-tasting chocolate. This cake has a true, deep and dark color, along with a rich (but not overpowering) chocolate taste. After mixing everything, the batter was extremely thin --- so thin that I re-traced the entire recipe to make sure I had used the correct amount of dry ingredients. It was right. I thought: "Well, here goes. Let's see if it rises." It baked true to form and the texture is superb. I did not make a 14x17-inch cake. Instead, I made two 9-inch cakes and two 8-inch cakes with this batter (perfect amount). I'll freeze two cakes for use at a later date. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Definitely not a german chocolate cake, but despite this, it is most certainly the best chocolate cake I have ever made! I love it, I make it as cakes or cupcakes. It is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carollynna2
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
This recipe makes an amazing, rich, dark, and very "chocolately" cake! Love it...it's the only one I use now. Beware that it fully doubles in the oven, so only fill cupcake or layer pans 1/2 full. It makes a lot, so you can get three 9-inch layers out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
HIGH ELEVATIONER'S PAY ATTENTION! You need to cut down the amount of water you put into this recipe and add more flour. Otherwise they will sink in the center and flow over the edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This cake is perfect for chocolate lovers!! It's tasty on its own and simply...so chocolatey!! =) Even people who are hard to please will nod their heads approvingly at this recipe ;)so go ahead..try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kandy, Central, Sri Lanka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Oh my gosh! This cake is amazing! I love the taste of German chocolate frosting, but I dont like the lighter chocolate cake, I want a fantastic chooolate cake to go with my wonderful frosting, and I am so very happy that I have finally found it! This is by far the moistest, best tasting homeade from scratch chocolate cake I have ever tasted! I did use a regular cake pan 10x13 so it did take a little bit longer to bake but it was sooooo worth the wait! Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Very moist and yummy. My 5 year old loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States