Dark German Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
The title, at least for me, was misleading. I guess I have a completely different notion of what German Chocolate Cake is, so when I decided to try this unrated, unreviewed recipe, I focused on the "dark" in the title as well as the fact that the recipe called for a significant amount of cocoa. As this recipe's first reviewer, I prepared it exactly as written - no substituting coffee for the water, or any other changes, additions or substitutions. What a cake. A perfect, moist, deep, dark chocolate cake. Have you tried and loved the top-rated chocolate cake recipes from this site? This is right up there. (I made half a recipe into 18 cupcakes, baked at 19 minutes - pitch black, they were perfect for Halloween decorations!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
moist and delishious. The title was a bit misleading because it's a "German chocolate cake" so i expected a normal chocolate cake. What a wonderful surprise when I bit into this cake! Moist, flavorful, chocolatey. This recipe is worth baking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Delicious! I made half this recipe and half of another for cupcakes. These are so moist and delicious! I made them for a Birthday Party, but since it's almost Halloween, I decorated with Halloween/Fall decorations! I came out with 17 cupcakes (filled 'almost' to the top) and they baked for about 20-22 minutes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Although the cake was amazingly moist and very delicious, this recipe is not conducive to high elevation cooking. The cupcakes overflowed the cups and were hollow inside and the cake imploded. The whole middle of the cake just caved in. I recommend reducing the amount of milk, water and vegetable oil if you're going to cook this cake at higher elevations i.e. Denver/Boulder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This was fantastic, I topped it with whipped cream and cream cheese, then put a tin of black cherries and grated chocolate on top. mmmmmmmmm like a black forest cake. made it for a farewell for 20 people and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This recipe was fine, yet the cake still felt a bit underdone even after the thirty minute baking time. It tastes amazing with ganache icing. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dessert:)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Pam M
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Im a Chocoholic at heart..and Oh My Gosh, this recipe does not dissapoint, it is fantastic! I decided to make cupcakes, this recipe made approx 44 regular sized cupcakes, filled 2/3 full. I did not change a thing ingredient wise. Very moist and delicious! I Piped around the outer edge with the Creamy Chocolate frosting recipe from this site and pipped a dollup of coconut/pecan German Chocolate frosting in the middle on top. Topped each cupcake off with a candied pecan piece and a drizzle of Chocolate ganache. Took 3 dozen to work for a bake sale and these recieved RAVE reviews from everyone! Thank you keklang for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam M

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This recipe creates a very moist and fluffy cake, but would definitely benefit from replacing the hot water with coffee instead. While tasty on its own, the cake does come out rather flat. It didn't sink, but it didn't exactly rise the way I expected it to, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coffee&Chocolate

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA
Living In: Leesport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Very moist and yummy. My 5 year old loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Oh my gosh! This cake is amazing! I love the taste of German chocolate frosting, but I dont like the lighter chocolate cake, I want a fantastic chooolate cake to go with my wonderful frosting, and I am so very happy that I have finally found it! This is by far the moistest, best tasting homeade from scratch chocolate cake I have ever tasted! I did use a regular cake pan 10x13 so it did take a little bit longer to bake but it was sooooo worth the wait! Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States