Dark Chocolate Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
A lovely, dense coffee style cake, it was easy to make and tasted delicious. A semi-sweet chocolate glaze with more almonds sprinkled on top tarts it up sufficiently to meet the approval of even the most discriminating koffee klatch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
When the recipe said dry - it meant dry! I made it for an office event and everyone agreed it was awful. It was so dry it was like eating biscotti. It is a must to have coffee to dip the cake in because it's so dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This cake is always a great addition to our meals. It's also very easy to make some variations for your tastes - I make is a 2 layer cake and add more orange zest between the layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
Nice cake, very good. Didn't have all the ingredients, so I played it by ear... I put more orange in, and the result is very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Archangel
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I went ahead and made this cake without reading the reviews, but I did pay special attention to the DO NOT overmix instructions and (after I had read the reviews) the baking time, which I shortened by 10 minutes. Substitutions I made to the recipe were the following: Duck eggs instead of chicken eggs, and 2/3 cup of mayonnaise, rather than sour cream. When finished, I glazed the underside of the cake with a mixture of confectioner's sugar, orange juice and vanilla. I then plated and turned the cake over, and drizzled on a chocolate ganache. Finished with some orange slices, that I slightly poached in Southern Comfort, I think this cake is going to be a HUGE success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Archangel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
This cake is very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kellidd
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This was a huge hit with my family and my followers. I used a box cake mix and a few add ins but it was moist and delicious! You can find my tutorial here:http://kellisretrokitchenarts.wordpress.com/2012/12/20/orange-cake-w-dark-chocolate-ganache/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellidd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States