Dark Chocolate Cherry Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This is a keeper...cannot wait to try this recipe again with dried blueberries. YUM !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Very easy to make. I had no problem with the mixture setting up in 2 hours, but sometimes atmospheric moisture can make a difference. My daughter asked me to make a "plain" batch without the cherries and loved the results. I also made a batch and added 1/8 teaspoon each of ground ancho chili and ground chipotle chili, and a pinch of cayenne when I added the cherries, for a different flavor: warm and only slightly spicy. I think the chilis cut the sweetness while adding depth. That version will make great Christmas presents for my spice-loving friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
First of all - make sure that you use a large pot! I used a medium-sized one which seemed to have plenty of room - until I added the remaining ingredients and had trouble stirring it effectively, leaving me with a pot full of chunky, stiff goo. I thought that perhaps next time I would melt the chocolate before adding it to the sugar/milk. In any case, the result did have nice flavours (I used craisins, glace cherries and nuts), but the texture of the fudge is granular and the overall taste is overly sweet. I guess in the end I prefer my old standby recipe for Sweet Marie bars - a much easier and creamy concoction of chocolate, peanutbutter and Rice Krispies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oven Mitts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I was the hit of last Christmas with this recipe. It is so easy and can be varried using different dried fruits (love ya Ocean Spray). My first attempt I tried hand chopping the dried cherries but ended up with large chunks in some fudge pieces and others with no cherry at all. Second time I used my food processor and even though the cherries were minced really small, they were distributed more evenly through the fudge and the cherry flavor really came through in the entire batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Made this recipe twice. I make fudge at least once a month for my girls. This recipe didn't make fudge, it made chocolate sauce. I even had brand specific matches for the ingredients both times. It tasted good and wound up being a sauce to go with cheesecake I made for a party, but this doesn't set like fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This was a lovely substitute for my other fudge recipe that always failed to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I made this round of fudge with White Chocolate this time and it tasted even sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I now have two favorite fudge recipes that I love from Allrecipes. I made this recipe exactly, and put the cherries in last and stirred gently like a reviewer said. I loved this fudge, and I don't like cherries. It was great after I tasted it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Best fudge my family has ever had! Made as is except added walnuts. Even my husband, who doesn't like fudge, kept sneaking pieces. Will be my only chocolate fudge recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
The best fudge I have ever had! I made this for christmas treats and everyone loved it. It is my new christmas fudge. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaimie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States