Dark Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This is one delicious cake! It's moist, rich and flavorful. The only change I made was to add some vanilla. For Valentine's Day, I made half the recipe in an 8 X 8 glass pan because I didn't want too much cake around to destroy my diet. It wasn't a high cake - it only rose to about halfway up. But man, topped with chocolate buttercream frosting, was it to-die-for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taco Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
This chocolate cake is amazing! I entered this cake in the fair and it won an award. It's extremely moist!!! I've paired this cake with creamy chocolate frosting.... And also paired it with German chocolate frosting and ganache.... my friend makes this cake with fresh whipped cream and cherries making for a perfect black forest cake!! It's fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Eh. Makes for a fairly tasteless cake, I had to add a filling to my cupcakes to add a much needed flavour boost. Really disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I made this for my husband's birthday and it was fabulous! Very quick, very easy, and one of the tastiest cakes I have ever made. Paired it with a vanilla buttercream icing from the Food Network, and it was delicious. Our son said it would also be good with just powdered sugar sprinkled on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This recipe is excellent! I made it in 2 round cake pans to make a double layer birthday cake for my mother in law and she has been raving about it! I added a can of cherry pie filing (tho I rinsed some of the syrup away so it wouldn't take away from the flavor of the cake itself) for a twist. Yummy! This is officially me new favorite recipe! Easy enough that my 4 year old enjoyed helping make it, super moist, full of flavor. If I could give more than 5 stars I would!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I wasn't sure about this recipe when I first saw, but the cake turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
My husband said this is the best chocolate cake he has ever had. It was ridiculously easy to make and stayed super moist through two days. Great with Rich Chocolate Frosting, also on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This cake is delicious (and easy)! I made mine in a bundt pan and topped it off with a chocolate glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
this was incredible!! i used Herseys Dark Cocoa powder and a dark fudge icing (in a jar, i got lazy) and plain brewed starbucks coffee and my family LOVED it! i will deffinatly be using this recipe again!! 5 *!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
My cake rose very high, I followed exact recipe. However after 40 min the cake was still very wet in the middle I had to bake for an additional 20 min. Cake turned out too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 396) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States