Dark Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Perfect. Just as it said, except I used 1 cup cocoa instead. So easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
This is the best chocolate cake recipe I have ever tried; super moist and fluffy! I used the recipe as is, only I made cupcakes with it. It made about 3 dozen cupcakes! I used a basic cream cheese frosting recipe but added a tsp. of peppermint extract to it. The chocolate and mint is an awesome combination! I'll never use another chocolate cake recipe ever again! This is now my go to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
This cake is Super easy in every way and Amazing! All ingredients are normally in the pantry already, one bowl-easy clean up, and best of all it's rich, moist with an amazing Chocolate flavor! I've been making it for 4 years now and no one is tired of it lol. Started off because it was my father-in-laws birthday and no one had a car to go get a cake mix-- we had all these ingredients already and it's turned out perfect every time since then. Before baking, the mix does look watery but that is normal and means you're doing it right. Tastes great with chocolate/cream cheese icing or german chocolate style. Love IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Everyone loved this. I used a cup of green tea instead of coffee - just wondered how it would come out - and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Ive made this cake a lot its everyone favorite its the best chocolate cake moist and trust me when its a birthday holiday this is the cake thats always ask for no tweet made it as is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Gaines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShellBell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Eudora, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I bake and decorate cakes as hobby, and this is my favorite recipe for a chocolate cake that I have found so far. It beats out Martha Stewart, Emeril's, and the Cake Boss Buddy Valastro's chocolate cake hands down. It very good just as is with no changes. So if you're just doing a double layer 8" round I wouldn't change anything. Unless you don't like a dark chocolate cake. If you plan to carve this cake add a 1/2 cup of flour otherwise it to soft to do much with. If you don't like a dark chocolate just cut back to 1/2 cup of cocoa it will be more like a devil food cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and it was extremely good. Couldn't be any easier. I used a chocolate cream cheese frosting which I thought went perfect with it. I do not think (like other readers do) you need buttermilk - just follow the recipe as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
This is a really good, very simple to make cake. One bowl, three minutes with the KitchenAid, what could be better? I will not hesitate to use this recipe again. Great reviews from everyone who ate it! However, I made cupcakes. I know my oven is spot on, so it just may have been this batch. But the cupcakes didn't "dome". They did rise, but remained flat on top. I was frosting them so it didn't really matter. The cake was chocolatey, moist, nice crumb and tasty. And hey, one bowl, my goodness.....simple goodness. Try this one for yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
this is my second time making this and i have gotten rave reviews each time. simple to make. i bake mine in a bundt pan and make a peanut butter frosting or glaze. needless to say no left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurie smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Maine, USA
Living In: Sidney, Maine, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 420) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States