Dark Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Worst cook ever
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Tried it twice, turned out quite nice both times. It's a great recipe to have for a quick no-fuss, minimal- mess cake. It does taste like boxed cake mix, but it's also not more of a hassle to make than box mix, you can tweak it easily to satisfy your tastes and you know exactly what's in it. I don't get the reviewers raving like crazy about the taste, though; it's not bad by any means, especially for a one-bowl cake, but you can tell there's no actual chocolate in it (cocoa butter is irreplaceable).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This recipe helped me make the best cupcakes of my life! I only added an extra 1/4 cup of cocoa (i used hershey's dark cocoa powder) and when they finished baking I scooped out the centers and stuffed them with cherries. "Dark Chocolate Covered Cherry cupcakes". :) I also made homemade dark chocolate whipped cream for frosting and topped with sprinkles! Everyone RAVED! I will be keeping this recipe. Mmmmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Loved it!! Took it to the Office & it was a big hit. Used Cool whip cream cheese frosting So simple & easy. Will make this again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Oh my heavenly chocolate!! I made cupcakes using this recipe with one small change. I mixed the vinegar and milk then let it sit for about 5 minutes before mixing in. I do this with pancakes too! These are delicious without anything on it, vanilla buttercream only makes it more amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I found this very easy to make, it was moist and tasted very good. I added this one to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
This was a great cake. It was rich with chocolate flavor, but not too sweet. I am already planning on using this for my husband's birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy B
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This recipe was so easy to put together. I made it exactly as written, did not change a thing and baked in a bundt pan. Loved by everyone - I made my own birthday cake!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Excellent dark chocolate cake. I topped it with peanutbutter mousse for the frosting and it was a hit at the church function I took it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Best cake recipe I have tried. It's a huge hit with the family. So don't be afraid to use this recipe for the first time if you have an event
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
This was good, insanely good. Everyone was raving about it. I made this recipe exactly as written. Used a cream cheese frosting from this site and added a little bittersweet coco to it. Yummy. Also love that this is one bowl! Easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgilbo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 419) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States