Dark Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Amy
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Really good. I halved it so we would not have so much temptation in the house. As many Allrecipes cooks do, I made a couple of changes, but merely out of necessity. We had no coffee to add so I added Rootbeer instead. Perfectly fine substitution. Also, just had white whole wheat flour. Surprisingly, it is not noticeable and I would do it again if needed. No frosting, just some powdered sugar. Very nice everyday baking recipe. I promised the kids we would bake and bake we did. Everyone was satisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Not chocolaty enough for my taste, pretty good consistency
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
have tried the recipe yesterday. added ganache, cheries and grated chocolate to finish a very nice birthday cake. it was really the best recipe i ever tried in my life and i recommend my friends and relatives to try same. my husband loved the cake, and everyone asked about the recipe. thank you so much.. it was just perfect..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Amazing cake, so easy, so moist, so delicious!! The only change I made was to substitute the milk and vinegar by plain yogurt (we don't have buttermilk in my country).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Amazing recipe .. Made this for my husbands birthday last week but with one change- halving the sugar content to one cup and it turned out do well !! Iced it with the dark chocalate cream cheese( used fat free cream cheese, topped with some grated orange zest) and the result was sheer heavenly decadence!! My husband called it the best dark chocalate cake he had ever had and my kids couldn't stop at 2 pieces at a time. My sis in law loved it too and will be passing this along to her as well! Absolute 5 stars- hands down!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by startedat41
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Moist and delicious!! I've found reading reviews is a must for this site. I followed the suggestion of using buttermilk instead of milk & delete vinegar and also used two 9" round pans. I used the choc cheese frosting recipe by Carol and used the "Expert Chocolate Mousse" recipe as filling. Unbelievably delicious and received many kudos! Great chocolate cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by startedat41

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Delicious! I added a cup of chocolate chips, as recommended by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Marx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
The cake was delicious made EXACTLY as described. You don't taste the coffee, but it gives it a deep flavor. I baked it in a Bundt pan for 35 minutes. It was super easy, including clean up. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I added some Kahlua and 1/2 tsp chipotle. AMAZING!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This cake was super moist and yummy. It was a little sunken in in the middle, but since I don't care much about the way it looked, I gave it a 5-star rating on taste. I made it for my daughter's 6th birthday party and everybody seemed to love it. I used the Creamy Chocolate Frosting recipe from this site which worked well with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emsderfer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 413) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States