Dark Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I made this for my husband's birthday and it was fabulous! Very quick, very easy, and one of the tastiest cakes I have ever made. Paired it with a vanilla buttercream icing from the Food Network, and it was delicious. Our son said it would also be good with just powdered sugar sprinkled on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This recipe is excellent! I made it in 2 round cake pans to make a double layer birthday cake for my mother in law and she has been raving about it! I added a can of cherry pie filing (tho I rinsed some of the syrup away so it wouldn't take away from the flavor of the cake itself) for a twist. Yummy! This is officially me new favorite recipe! Easy enough that my 4 year old enjoyed helping make it, super moist, full of flavor. If I could give more than 5 stars I would!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I wasn't sure about this recipe when I first saw, but the cake turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
My husband said this is the best chocolate cake he has ever had. It was ridiculously easy to make and stayed super moist through two days. Great with Rich Chocolate Frosting, also on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This cake is delicious (and easy)! I made mine in a bundt pan and topped it off with a chocolate glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
this was incredible!! i used Herseys Dark Cocoa powder and a dark fudge icing (in a jar, i got lazy) and plain brewed starbucks coffee and my family LOVED it! i will deffinatly be using this recipe again!! 5 *!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
My cake rose very high, I followed exact recipe. However after 40 min the cake was still very wet in the middle I had to bake for an additional 20 min. Cake turned out too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This cake lived up to its rave reviews. I'm so satisfied with how this turned out. Thank you for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Clearly I'm the odd one out here but I really didn't care for this cake - it only gets three stars because folks at the part I took it to sought me out to compliment me on the cake/icing (though I am convinced they were just being nice!) My cake sunk in the middle, even after I baked it til the toothpick came out clean and never once moved the oven tray until it was time for it to come out. The cake itself was extremely dense. I used the chocolate cream cheese recipe from this site, as recommended by some, and found that it simply compounded the richness and thickness of the cake. Maybe I'm just not the chocoholic I thought I was!! I will try another recipe before I try this one again (though I'm fully prepared to admit I did something wrong here), as I prefer a still moist but overall spongier, lighter cake. If I made this again I'd suggest a lighter, more whipped or mousse-like icing, perhaps raspberry-flavored, maybe peanut butter. And a tall glass of milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Very easy chocolate cake to make in a jiffy - don't let thinness of batter fool you - it bakes up like a charm -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 413) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States