Dark Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
This made excellent cupcakes. The recipe made 28 cupcakes and I baked them for 20 minutes exactly. Let sit in the cupcake tins for about 10 minutes and then removed to a baking rack to cool completely. Frosted with the Peanut Butter Frosting from AR and they were a hit at a work potluck! Thanks so much for posting this easy, delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
SUPER moist cake. I let it sit overnight before frosting or I think it would have ripped. But so delicious and EASY, it was worth it. Made it with two round cake pans and cooked for 25 min. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Fantastic cake! Very easy to make and soooo moist! From now on, this is the recipe I will use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Tasty and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonarina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I have been married for 20 years and this is the best cake I have ever made. My kids raved that it tastes just like Hostess. I had a carton of sour milk that i didn't want to throw away, so substituted 2 cups of that for the coffee, milk and vinegar. Frosted it with old-fashioned frosting recipe (flour-based) because I didn't have any powdered sugar. Seriously, the best cake I have ever had in my life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I have always had a weakness for a good dark chocolate cake. This one takes the cake!!! It came out perfect each time I made it. I used Ghiradelli dark cocoa and it was great. Topped it with a white chocolate ganache. with dark chocolate shaving and I've been getting request for more ever since. It is by far the easiest and best tasting dark chocolate cake I've ever used. Thanks a million
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Perfect recipe with no modifications. I baked it in a bundt pan and frosted with a chocolate cream cheese icing. Will make another later this week and try a different frosting so I have an excuse to present another cake to the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This is one delicious cake! It's moist, rich and flavorful. The only change I made was to add some vanilla. For Valentine's Day, I made half the recipe in an 8 X 8 glass pan because I didn't want too much cake around to destroy my diet. It wasn't a high cake - it only rose to about halfway up. But man, topped with chocolate buttercream frosting, was it to-die-for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taco Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
This chocolate cake is amazing! I entered this cake in the fair and it won an award. It's extremely moist!!! I've paired this cake with creamy chocolate frosting.... And also paired it with German chocolate frosting and ganache.... my friend makes this cake with fresh whipped cream and cherries making for a perfect black forest cake!! It's fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Eh. Makes for a fairly tasteless cake, I had to add a filling to my cupcakes to add a much needed flavour boost. Really disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States