Dark Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Clearly I'm the odd one out here but I really didn't care for this cake - it only gets three stars because folks at the part I took it to sought me out to compliment me on the cake/icing (though I am convinced they were just being nice!) My cake sunk in the middle, even after I baked it til the toothpick came out clean and never once moved the oven tray until it was time for it to come out. The cake itself was extremely dense. I used the chocolate cream cheese recipe from this site, as recommended by some, and found that it simply compounded the richness and thickness of the cake. Maybe I'm just not the chocoholic I thought I was!! I will try another recipe before I try this one again (though I'm fully prepared to admit I did something wrong here), as I prefer a still moist but overall spongier, lighter cake. If I made this again I'd suggest a lighter, more whipped or mousse-like icing, perhaps raspberry-flavored, maybe peanut butter. And a tall glass of milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Very easy chocolate cake to make in a jiffy - don't let thinness of batter fool you - it bakes up like a charm -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
this is my staple chocolate cake! i've made it so many times, the recipe is awesome. i always make my own buttermilk by putting 1T. of lemon juice and adding milk up to the 1c. line and sit for 5 min. i pair this with rich chocolate frosting by amy v from this site it is an amazing combination you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherryebomb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This is my new favorite chocolate cake recipe. It is very chocolatey and not too sweet. I made the this exactly as the recipe said, something I almost never do! I filled with whipped ganache and covered in liquid ganace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This was so easy and one of my favorites on this site. Be warned the batter is very watery but cooks up great. The cake is much better the next day and I put some cream cheese frosting on it. I changed nothing because it is good as it is....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I baked three cakes today using this recipe. My only variation was to add a tablespoon of instant espresso to boost the dark chocolate flavor. It made a nice sturdy cake to split and fill. I baked two in 9 by 13 inch pans to make a black forest cake to take to church and the third I have baked in 9 inch round layers to frost for my son's birthday. I used my stand mixer, mixed the dry ingredients first and then added the wet all at once. A great cake with big flavor that you can work with. I wil make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
It's delicious. And quick to put together. I can not think of any improvement. Make this recipe as written, you will not be disappointed. I needed a small amount, decided to only make a single layer, so I cut this in half. I spread a thin vanilla frosting on the cake while it was still warm. It was eaten before the next morning. Thanks for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Good with rich topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Wow, what delicious cake...so moist and flavourful. I made them into cupcakes instead of a cake (baked for about 15 min @350 degrees) and Iced them with mocha frosting recipe from this site. Amazing. This will be my go to chocolate cake recipe...and so easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I made this cake but used sour cream instead of the milk, used white vinegar and coffee as suggested, no baking powder, baked at 360-370 for 40 minutes. Awesome results. It rose in the middle without any problems. If I were decorating I would use a lower temperature to make it flatter. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 405) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States