Dark Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Amazing recipe .. Made this for my husbands birthday last week but with one change- halving the sugar content to one cup and it turned out do well !! Iced it with the dark chocalate cream cheese( used fat free cream cheese, topped with some grated orange zest) and the result was sheer heavenly decadence!! My husband called it the best dark chocalate cake he had ever had and my kids couldn't stop at 2 pieces at a time. My sis in law loved it too and will be passing this along to her as well! Absolute 5 stars- hands down!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by startedat41
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Moist and delicious!! I've found reading reviews is a must for this site. I followed the suggestion of using buttermilk instead of milk & delete vinegar and also used two 9" round pans. I used the choc cheese frosting recipe by Carol and used the "Expert Chocolate Mousse" recipe as filling. Unbelievably delicious and received many kudos! Great chocolate cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by startedat41

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Delicious! I added a cup of chocolate chips, as recommended by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Marx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
The cake was delicious made EXACTLY as described. You don't taste the coffee, but it gives it a deep flavor. I baked it in a Bundt pan for 35 minutes. It was super easy, including clean up. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I added some Kahlua and 1/2 tsp chipotle. AMAZING!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This cake was super moist and yummy. It was a little sunken in in the middle, but since I don't care much about the way it looked, I gave it a 5-star rating on taste. I made it for my daughter's 6th birthday party and everybody seemed to love it. I used the Creamy Chocolate Frosting recipe from this site which worked well with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emsderfer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ive
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
It was a birthday gift. My coworkers loved it. Used buttermilk instead of milk. Cream cheese frosting topped with fresh bacon bits. Totally decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ive

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aguadilla, Aguadilla, Puerto Rico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Didn't change a thing except to add the vinegar to the milk and let it sit for 5 minutes. What a great cake!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Very good, used about 1/4 cup less coffee. Baked 25 - 27 min in 9 inch cake pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Easy and delicious. Made without frosting, just sprinkled with powder sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 398) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States