Dark Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
This is such a great cake!!! It took a short time to make, and it was sooo delicious! I will always make this when I need a rich, dark, chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2004
this was sooo wonderfull and easy!! I melted chocolate (dark) chips, mixed it with kaula and pured it over - very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
Super easy and good. I have used the following changes with success (but not at the same time): adding 1/2 cup shredded coconut, substituting 1 cup of flour for 1 cup ground almonds (makes a much denser cake), using 1/2 cup coffee and 1/2 cup kahlua (good!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by concretejungleprincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
Quick and easy, it only required 2 eggs yet it was MOIST and TASTY! THE BEST CHOCOLATE CAKE I HAVE EVER MADE AND TASTED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
Perfect! Easy, moist, husband and son approved. Delicious on its own or with chocolate icing. Now if I could just restrain myself from sneaking bites of cake--it's disappearing fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nacmacfeagle
Home Town: Hantsport, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Dauphin, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
This is a very good chocolate cake. The texture is nice and light, unlike some. I found it really didn't need icing....it's delicious without it.[if this shows up with 4 stars, I meant to put 5!]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2004
I loved this.The extra cocoa really brought out a dark chocolate taste.I frosted it with the chocolate cream cheese frosting and it was to die for then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
This recipe was great!! Very easy to make, and the cake turned out really moist and rich - utterly delicious! I found that 1-1/4 cups of sugar and just 1/2 cup cocoa were sufficient for a rich, flavorful cake. However, it took longer to bake than the recipe provides for. Next time I might try to cut down on the coffee, since 1 whole cup seems a bit excessive. Even so, best cake I ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
SUPERB!!! I loved this cake, one of the best I have ever made. I had to change it a little because I am on a dairy, soy and egg free diet. So I used rice milk instead of regular milk, egg replacement instead of eggs and canola oil instead of veggie oil. It turned out WONDERFULLY!! Don't omit the coffee, it is the special ingredient! I didn't use frosting and it was just great! Thanks so much :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMCL1994

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
amazing texture, was easy to cut into pieces, not like hersheys perfectly chocolate cake, which, although is still my current favourite, falls apart easily. The one problem I had was that the middle of the cake sunk after it came out of the oven. Overall, an amazing cake (you can't taste the coffee)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 397) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States