Dark Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2002
I made this all in one bowl and it was so simple. A moist and chocolatey cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
EASY AND VERY GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2002
I was looking for a devil's food cake recipe similar to the flavor of store bought cake mixes for ages. This one is it! It is better than the commercial mixes too as the cake does not fall apart getting it out of the pan. Also, I was able to cut down the amount of sugar by half without any loss of flavor or texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
This is such a simple recipe and I really enjoyed making it. I would advise you cut down a lot on the coffee, say to about 1/4 cup, and make your own icing by using icing sugar, butter, 1 tablesp. vannilla essence and no more than 2 tablesp. cocoa. This is a family favourite not to be missed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
Superb, and SO easy! This is my new standard for chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
I recently reviewed and rated this recipe, but it was for the wrong recipe. Please delete my comment. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chinook, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
I made this cake for a co-worker's birthday and it received rave reviews from 30+ people! It was quick, easy and delicious... My new standard for dark chocolate cake! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
This was a VERY good cake! I only used 1/2 Cup coffee. I resifted the flour, put it in the strainer, and measured all the rest of the dry ingredients in the strainer, ran them thru the strainer, and then mixed them. I mixed all wet ingr. in another bowl too, then added them to the first and blended them together, stuch it in the oven AND......YUM YUM! I added a slightly heaping teasp. of instant coffee and 1/4 Cup of cocoa powder to a buttercream frosting recipe from a cookbook from the late 50's. Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2003
This was the first cake I ever learned to make from scratch when I was about 8 years old. It's easy, its cheap (no vanilla and cocoa instead of some expensive chcolate) and it just a great cake. I was so excited when I found it last week that I've made it twice since. I cut the recipe in half and make it in a square pan. I actually just dump all the ingrediants in a bowl no "making the well" no "dry then wet" and it just comes out great no matter what. I used a canned chocolate cream cheese frosting and then I used canned coconut pecan, it was taaaasteeeeey both ways. I have to get busy and find my old recipe for frosting that you just 'plop' in the middle of hot cake, wait and it frosts itself....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
Excellent recipe. Don't be turned-off by the coffee if you don't like coffee, it doesn't taste like coffee. It has a very rich chocolate flavor. It is a very moist cake. This cake is just right, simple, tasty and quick. Thank you for putting the recipe on the web.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 411) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States