Dark Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Fabulous. So delicious. a sure crowd pleaser. Not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GiGi
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Fantastic cake. So moist and chocolatey. Made a beautiful birthday cake for my daughter. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GiGi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Made this cake for family members' birthdays and it was very good. I followed the recipe and used a chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
This cake is the Bomb!! Moist so chocolatey! Perfect as is no need to change a thing! My search for the Best chocolate cake is over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
nice flavor, foolproof recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Delicious, moist and very chocolaty! I used extra brute cocoa powder, buttermilk and 1 cup brown sugar and 1 cup white sugar. Got 27 cupcakes I filled 3/4 full to bake. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
A really delicious cake, though next time I would maybe add a few tablespoons more of cocoa, but that is personal preference. Its has just the right amount of sugar where if you add icing its isn't too much. In summary it is very moist cake and has a rich chocolate flavour, and I would recommend trying it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ratatouille22

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This recipe is excellent! I have used it over and over, and I always get rave reviews on the rich flavor of this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Yes, for what it is, this is a 5-Star recipe--but it's not a one-bowl recipe! I'm surprised that no one knows the purpose of the vinegar. It's to sour the milk. You put the vinegar in a glass measuring cup and then fill with milk to to the 1 cup line. Then wait 15 to 25 minutes until the milk shows signs of souring (curdling). This is a time-honored method of inexpensively adding flavor and richness to baked goods. Buttermilk can't match it. I remember years ago, learning to cook in my mother's kitchen and scoffing at her old-timey farm-raised ideas. I used buttermilk instead of soured milk in my dad's favorite Coconut Raisin Cookies and had to listen to him tell how I just couldn't match my mom for making good cookies. I went right back to the sour milk! The Farm Journal Test Kitchens supported my findings, too. The other item I would mention is DON'T FORGET THE VANILLA! No chocolate cake is ever complete without vanilla. Yes, the coffee (I use espresso) brings out the rich, deep flavor notes of the chocolate, but the vanilla highlights the "flowery," sweet notes. To achieve the full depth and range of chocolate flavor, you need the vanilla. Then, when you smother this complex, delicious cake with a sweet frosting, you will have a truly complete chocolate experience. I chop this cake into serving-sized cubes and freeze them in squares of plastic wrap. Perfect treats at a moment's notice! Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
This made excellent cupcakes. The recipe made 28 cupcakes and I baked them for 20 minutes exactly. Let sit in the cupcake tins for about 10 minutes and then removed to a baking rack to cool completely. Frosted with the Peanut Butter Frosting from AR and they were a hit at a work potluck! Thanks so much for posting this easy, delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 422) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States