Dark Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
My 1st time ever make a cake from scratch & Betty Crocker ain't got nothing on me! This was a delicious cake. After reading the reviews I chose to go with strong coffee over water. It worked phenomenally well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Very good recipe, the cake is very moist and delicious with or without icing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Great cake... I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by valiantmale
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I made the recipe, but re-made it adding and extra Egg Yolk & 1 Cup of Sour Cream. When adding the eggs one at a time, I just added the extra yolk last. After the last of the cocoa mixture was blended in, I slowly mixed the Sour Cream in until thoroughly blended. Baked at the same 350 degrees but for about 5 minutes longer. Made sure a toothpick came out clean. This addition of a yolk & sour cream helps add moisture and makes it a richer cake with a bit more density. Try it with a Cream Cheese Frosting! Four Stars as is, but 5 stars with my upgrade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
It was indeed dark and pretty easy to make. It made a lot of cake and I couldn't be bothered frosting, so I just dusted some powdered sugar on top. I was good, but I think it need frosting to be 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Really good. Used fresh coffee instead of boiling water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
I made this cake for a coworker's birthday at work and everyone raved about it! The first time I made it was a little too rich for my taste, so the second time I added a little less cocoa powder. I also did a raspberry jam filling, chocolate frosting and put fresh raspberries on top. I served it with raspberry chocolate ice cream. I'm still getting praises about how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Just made this and so far, I am not impressed. I'm no expert, but I followed this recipe to a T and it's dry and crumbly. Not very rich tasting either, as you would expect from a dark chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
The DH said it all as he savored the last forkful of this cake,"HEAVENLY"....I did not change the method, however I did make a few small changes which I am certain "did not" make any difference in the wonderful texture of the cake. I used white whole wheat flour, 1 cup freshly ground & brewed french roast coffee & 1 cup vanilla almond milk (heated). Instead of butter,Spectrum non-hydrogenated all vegetable shortening. I baked the cake in 9x13x3 stoneware lined with unbleached parchment paper with no sticking after cooling completely. Stored overnight in airtight container in fridge. It is not "crumbly" or "lacking on moisture" or any of the unmpteen other negative adjectives I read in the reviews. I used my Kitchen-aid for mixing and convection feature on my oven for 30mins. If I had chosen to frost it obviously wouldn't have been a problem and I would have placed the cake in the freezer for a bit prior to that step. Maybe others with frosting problems should have done that. Oh, we used a dollop of Truwhip on some pieces which is a healthful alternative to Cool Whip (no GMO's or all the other nasty stuff including high fructose corn syrup)& it tastes more like a rich whipped topping should. So cheers to you Carol for a very easy recipe with room to "tweak" or just as written....decadent and chocolicious!!!! Thank You;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I made this cake Saturday for a birthday party and Everyone Loved it! I used coffee in place of the water. I added crushed Oreo s for a crunch on the center layers and then frosted the cake with a chocolate butter cream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States