Dark Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Fantastic. I braved it and made it without alteration. I do a -lot- of cooking and baking from scratch, and can say this is the best consistency chocolate cake I've found for a moist, soft, springy cupcake. If you like a denser, richer cake, you might want to try a different recipe (I personally use my mom's triple layer cake recipe). But if you're looking for that perfect cupcake texture with a delicious, not overly sweet flavor, look no further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
It's the second time I've tried this recipe and it's been a hit both times. After reading some of the reviews, I decided to use 1cup boiling water and 1cup of coffee (instead of 2cups of boiling water). Not dry as some reviews claimed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I doubled the recipe and topped it with a cooked icing and whipped cream in the middle. It was a real success! Kathy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Moist and delicious! We frosted it with Real Strawberry Frosting by Candice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Grinnell, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Excellent, moist and delicious. Separated the eggs, whipped up the whites and folded them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This cake is amazing! I am 11 and I only need help with pouring the hot water. So easy. This is the chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Amazing chocolate cake recipe! First time I made this cake, I followed the recipe exactly and it was great! The second time I did 1 cup of boiling water and 1 cup of strong fresh brewed coffee to bring out more of the chocolate flavor! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nueve35
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This was the very first chocolate cake I have ever baked, and it was fantastic. I baked it for my father's birthday party, and everyone was beyond impressed! It was deeply dark, soft, fluffy, and so delicious that my mom, who usually cannot stand anything with chocolaty flavour, raved about it after finishing a whole piece! I only made a couple of small adjustments to suit my pantry at the time: 1) I had dutch-processed cocoa powder, so I added 2 tablespoons of sugar to the recipe, and 2) as I only owned two 9-inch pans, I divided the batter into two cakes and baked them for 50-55 minutes at 340 degrees F. Once they were cooled, they were topped with some store-bought vanilla frosting, then one was decorated with raspberries along the edge, the other with almond slices. The toppings didn't really matter in terms of the flavour as the cakes themselves tasted far superior than any other cakes that I have ever had, but they sure helped with the looks! Everyone ooh-ed and ah-ed when the cakes entered the dining room.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
The cake turned out just excellent. Made it in a 9x11 inch pan and cut it in half once cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Easy and delicious, make a day before as the flavor is much better after it sat in the fridge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States