Dark Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
This is a good chocolate cake recipe - moist with good texture. I made half the recipe resulting in 18 cupcakes. Next time I would add some espresso powder to enhance the chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
my go to chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Yum, I put half brown sugar and half white sugar and a half a cup of sour cream and it tasted like brownies! I will use this as one flavor for my wedding cake since it stays together well. I was wondering what would happen if I used brownies as wedding cake anyway so this is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pollock Pines, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I have made this recipe about five times, and I've tweaked a few things here and there. EVERY single time I make it, it tastes like the kind of thing they'd be serving in fine dining! Listen, I've tried to bake other things, and always failed miserably, but for this cake, it always turns out amazing! My tweaks: I recommend using two cups of dark roast coffee when mixing the cocoa instead of water, as well as a hair more vanilla extract, about 1/8 cup less white sugar, and sometimes i use about 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon. Oh, and in a pinch it still tastes great with margarine, though of course don't skimp out; use butter (even salted is yummy)! *Usually layered with a homemade vanilla icing, though i've tried many different storeboughts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
The texture and moisture were fine, but even with a thick layer of chocolate frosting, I didn't find the cake to have very good flavor. It wasn't nearly sweet enough or chocolate-y enough. I'd rather have a box-cake any day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This is definitely the best chocolate cake recipe I've made. I'm making it for the second time this week. I took another reviewer's recommendation and separated the eggs and whipped the egg whites until soft peaked, and folded them after the rest of the batter was finished. The batter looks so delicious and velvety before it goes in the oven. Other people said it was dry and crumbly but mine was far from either. They were quite moist and (not sure how to describe this) firm but not dense. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This is a good recipe, the cake has a nice chocolate flavor without being overly sweet. I made this recipe as written, except I replaced one of the cups of boiling water with very hot coffee, to get a richer, darker flavour. Baked in two pans instead of three for a double layer cake, and had no trouble with it coming out of the pan as others have mentioned. I did grease the pans and lined the bottom with greased parchment paper, worked perfectly once the cake had cooled it came right out. It is a very dense cake however, so if you're looking for a light, moist cake this is not your recipe. It's almost like a chocolate pound cake, it is so heavy. 4 stars instead of 5 because it was so dense, not a bad thing just unexpected. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I love baking from scratch, and this was the most delicious easiest recipe I found on the internet! I will use this for all my cake baking recipes in the future! 5 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Rich, dark and delicious. So easy to make. I'll never use a Duncan Hines Devil's Food mix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This was an easy delicious recipe! It makes a lot of batter, I made 32 cupcakes, baking for about 20 minutes:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States