Dark Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
So disappointed! I'm looking for a dark chocolate cake to use for my wedding cake so I spent the extra on cake flour and top shelf ingredients. This turned out very dry with very little chocolate flavor. I live at almost 7,000 feet but don't know that it would have anything to do with it. Wish I knew what went wrong, it looked so promising!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
This is my o to chocolate cake recipe. I make cakes as a side business and hobby for birthdays, graduations, etc,,and this cake always comes out moist, but durable. The taste is fantastic. As another user said, the cake is much better if you substitute the water for other liquids. I always use 1 cup of hot coffee in place of the two cups of boiling water, and mix the cocoa in with that, and then use 1 cup of buttermilk added in to the rest of the ingredients. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Huge hit! Home run with this one. Cake was firm and dense without being hard or dry. Full flavor. I used half regular coco and half dark chocolate coco. Making my second one right now! Making cupcakes with this one. I used a whipped cream topping on the first cake a make and it was a perfect match for the flavors in the cake. Thank you a million times for posting this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
My 1st time ever make a cake from scratch & Betty Crocker ain't got nothing on me! This was a delicious cake. After reading the reviews I chose to go with strong coffee over water. It worked phenomenally well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Very good recipe, the cake is very moist and delicious with or without icing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Great cake... I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by valiantmale
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I made the recipe, but re-made it adding and extra Egg Yolk & 1 Cup of Sour Cream. When adding the eggs one at a time, I just added the extra yolk last. After the last of the cocoa mixture was blended in, I slowly mixed the Sour Cream in until thoroughly blended. Baked at the same 350 degrees but for about 5 minutes longer. Made sure a toothpick came out clean. This addition of a yolk & sour cream helps add moisture and makes it a richer cake with a bit more density. Try it with a Cream Cheese Frosting! Four Stars as is, but 5 stars with my upgrade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
It was indeed dark and pretty easy to make. It made a lot of cake and I couldn't be bothered frosting, so I just dusted some powdered sugar on top. I was good, but I think it need frosting to be 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Really good. Used fresh coffee instead of boiling water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
I made this cake for a coworker's birthday at work and everyone raved about it! The first time I made it was a little too rich for my taste, so the second time I added a little less cocoa powder. I also did a raspberry jam filling, chocolate frosting and put fresh raspberries on top. I served it with raspberry chocolate ice cream. I'm still getting praises about how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States