Dark Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Reni's Creative Custom Cakes
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Awesome recipe. Just what I was looking for!!! Deep dark and delicious. Only thing I added was a bit of instant coffee for a deeper flavour. Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Amazing! This is my go to birthday cake recipe, it's perfect. I substitute oil for butter so it stays moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Best cake ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I absolutely loved this recipe! It is so easy to make and everyone at my work loves it later today I will be teaching to 5 students because it is so easy. I tried this with a cream cheese frosting ad turned out very well. It is so easy to cut and very little crumbs. Just amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
This is a fantastic recipe for a three-layer dark chocolate cake. To make it extra dark, I simply used Hershey's Special Dark Chocolate Cocoa Powder and mixed that in with fresh-brewed coffee (instead of the boiling water). I used the "Special Buttercream Frosting" recipe on this site for the frosting and it created a sort of "cookies-and-cream" look for the cake which was fun. It was delicious and everyone loved it. This will definitely be my go-to chocolate cake recipe for the future. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irishfinn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Anselmo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
My new favorite! dark and rich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Fantastic. I braved it and made it without alteration. I do a -lot- of cooking and baking from scratch, and can say this is the best consistency chocolate cake I've found for a moist, soft, springy cupcake. If you like a denser, richer cake, you might want to try a different recipe (I personally use my mom's triple layer cake recipe). But if you're looking for that perfect cupcake texture with a delicious, not overly sweet flavor, look no further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
It's the second time I've tried this recipe and it's been a hit both times. After reading some of the reviews, I decided to use 1cup boiling water and 1cup of coffee (instead of 2cups of boiling water). Not dry as some reviews claimed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I doubled the recipe and topped it with a cooked icing and whipped cream in the middle. It was a real success! Kathy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Moist and delicious! We frosted it with Real Strawberry Frosting by Candice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Grinnell, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States