Dark Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by kwell08
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I made this recipe for a family dinner and it was a huge hit!! As others suggested I whipped the butter and sugar for over 2 minutes. I also cooked it in 2 10" springform pans. It made 2 good size tiers. I put strawberry filling between the layers and frosted it with cream cheese frosting... Delicious!! I will definitely use this as my go to chocolate cake recipe from now on. Very moist and versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Very good, nice and moist. Using hot coffee in place of water is a good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
It was just simply amazing! My daughter made it for us .. Lucky 13
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I just made this cake. I separated the eggs and whipped the whites. I also decreased the sugar by 1/4 cup and used Ghiradelli cocoa. Made Ghiradelli butter cream frosting. Turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
very moist cake instead of giving layer i just loved the way its :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
My 8 year old made this cake and it was WONDERFUL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pip Weaver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I have been baking this cake for years now, what I did to make it more moist is add a cup of chocolate pudding, I do not take anything out from the recipe. It is a hit for anyone and anyone I make this cake for. In fact it is so good that I have to fight with people to try other cakes when I bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DessertGirlie
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
made this cake into a 2 layer cake and 10 cupcakes, for a father's day dessert for my dad. i added some raspberry mousse to the middle and topped it off with some ganache. needless to say i found a cake my dad and brother couldn't stop eating, so i won't have to look at any more recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DessertGirlie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Absolutely amazing!! This cake turned out moist, and not crumbly at all! I made it three tiered with my own chocolate frosting. It was a big hit! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Best cake ever! This was a really easy recipe to follow. I used 1 cup of instant coffee and one cup of hot water. I also made it in a bundt pan for 45 min- this is a keeper! Everyone at the party requested the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States