Dark Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Everyone in my family requests this for their birthday cake EVERY YEAR. I've had friends walk out the door scooping the leftovers into a to go cup at the end up a party, begging me to send them the recipe. They love it. I don't like cake, but I love this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
The best cake around
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Tried this replacing the boiling water with coffee. Fantastic! Added almond bits to the top of the cake and it's plain perfect. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jun Ru Tay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This recipe is really good. It's tastes amazing and it's really moist. My only problem is that it completely fell apart when I tried to take it out of my pan. Any hints on how to NOT make a cake stick? That'd be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
A good cake batter for all needs! I use generous coat of cooking spary on non-stick bake-ware and it come out perfect after slight cooling in the pan. I have used it for layer cake, cup-cakes and mini-cup cakes. I use only 2 cups of sugar, and the rest, just like the recipe. Baking times: if you make 2 (thicker) cakes: 45 min in muffin size: 15 minutes mini muffin size: 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Sooo yummy and rich! I used a peanut butter cream cheese icing. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
This is my go to chocolate cake recipe. However, I do make one slight modification. I add one Hershey's Special Dark Pudding Mix and reduce the amount of AP flour by an equal amount (about 3/4 cup). This makes the cake exceptionally moist. Make sure you beat the sugar/butter for about 5 minutes to make it light and airy. I also like to add 3/4 bag of Special Dark chocolate chips in the mix. This add that unexpected bit of texture to the cake. This is especially nice if you are using this recipe for cup cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
This was just ok to me. I didn't alter the recipe at all and it came out kind of dry and not very rich tasting. I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Rich and dark, but not too dense. Loved it. Whipped whites separately and folded in. Otherwise, made to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliet M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Easy to make. Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHANDYCOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kottayam, Kerala, India
Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States