Dark Chocolate Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I have been making these for years. Only double batches. Always a request for parties and anytime you want a major chocolate fix. Very easy to make, one pan, the best brownies ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I have made this recipe many years with one slight modification. Mix together the butter, water and sugar, bring to a boil and remove from heat. Add chips and stir until melted. Add eggs and vanilla and incorporate. Then add the rest of the dry ingredients. Why dirty another bowl? Easy, quick and delicious with minimal cleanup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
324 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Wow! Yummy! I always like to try out new brownie recipes, just to see what is out there and this is my new favorite! I used good quality semi-sweet chocolate (sorry, not Nestle) and it was great, I think I will try dark chocolate next time just to taste the difference. I was a little unsure about only 3/4 c flour but it wasn't a problem. Very happy with these brownies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I've been using a nearly identical recipe (also from Toll House, using baking bars) for years and it is great. In fact, I just made them twice for parties this week and they were the first to disappear from the dessert table. As a chocoholic, I like to also fold in large chunks of white and milk chocolate (or dark chocolate, depending upon your preference) just before pouring into the pan. About 2.5 oz of each. If the mixture isn't too hot, they'll stay solid enough so that the brownies have pockets of solid chocolate that add to both the flavor and the presentation. You can never have too much chocolate, in my opinion. :) A few prep ideas: (1) It is also possible to melt the sugar and butter with a few tablespoons of water in the microwave (using a large microwave safe bowl of course). It is easier, faster, works just as well and it is plenty hot enough to melt the chocolate when mixed in after the sugar is melted. (2) In addition to buttering the pan, I like to line the bottom of the pan with a piece of baking paper to make it easier to get the brownies out and avoid breaking. (3) Remove the pan from the oven just before it is fully done for even moister and denser brownies (it will keep cooking/setting anyway due to the absorbed heat). BTW, this has become one of my favorite web sites, I just feel a little guilty that my cookbook collection gets so little attention these days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I love the recipe, but I am confused by the reviews which mention making these for years since the Dark Chocolate Chips are a brand new product that I have been waiting years for Nestle to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Made these as a treat for my chocoholic husband and I must say they are decadent! Had to bake for 45 minutes and they were still very moist when warm but firmed up nicely once fully cooled ... I served with a side of fresh strawberries and cream ... YUM!! Thanks for the recipe ... new favourite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SSHEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I have never made homemade brownies before. Too easy to pour a mix in a bowl... WOW - & this took only minutes more than a box!! They were GREAT! almost like fudge! I made them in a muffin tin, so I had to adjust the time, I took about 33 minutes. No more box mixes for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Easy and delicious!!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tjl513
Home Town: Studio City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This brownie could be so wonderful, but I was very disappointed in the cook time . . . after 40 minutes they were totally raw in the middle; cooked another 5 minutes and still too gooey. Cooked almost 50 minutes to get the middle done (and yes, I know to take them out while still loosely set in the middle, but these were WAY undercooked at 40 and 45 minutes) and the outsides were hard and no longer chewy. I should have covered the outsides with foil to prevent over-cooking, but hey, if you have to go thru all that trouble, why bother with this recipe? Perhaps the oven temp of 325 degrees was a misprint? Maybe cooking at 350 would help? So, even after 50 minutes of cooking, these brownies are still not cooked in the middle. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
The on thing i found wrong with there is that the batter is better then the brownie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States