Dark Chocolate Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I was really looking forward to trying this recipe. Brownies are hubby's favorite dessert and I have been looking for the Dark Chocolate Morsels in our area for a while and finally found them. These just didn't go over very well here. We do LOVE dark chocolate and fudgy brownies over a cake texture. The texture of these (even after adding approx 15 min to the bake time) was more like partially cooked fudge. The bottom and top were cooked but the middle never got done. The dark chocolate flavor is also not as strong as I was hoping for. It's no secret that we love our sweets here but these were just too sweet and the flavor was flat. I followed the recipe, leaving out the nuts. I enjoyed trying a new recipe and new product but will keep looking for a dark chocolate brownie recipe for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I've used a similar recipe with semisweet chips, and I wasn't sure how much of a difference the dark chocolate would make. It's been awhile, but in my estimation they're a little different but not hugely so, possibly because of the added sugar. If I make them again, I'll probably halve the salt (I use salted butter), and lighten up on the sugar, since the semi-melted morsels added at the end are plenty sweet. These are really very rich and loaded with sugar and fat. Usually I'm not a killjoy when it comes to sweets, but part of me thinks it's still overkill. That being said, plenty chocolatey, and probably delivers what most people expect, so at least 3.5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Delicious brownie and perfect for curbing that chocolate craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
The flavor of these was very good! I didn't have a problem with cook time, because I used a little bit of a larger pan, so mine weren't quite as thick. In fact, I did add a bit to my cook time after reading other reviews, and I may have overcooked them a bit. Very good and I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I'd give this a five star even though I changed a few things. We don't use eggs and I used an egg replacer. This recipe is so good that it can take it. They were still crinkly on top, as home made brownies should be, and really good. I used a very dark chocolate bar, copped. Sorry, our grocery store didn't have Nestle Dark Chocolate Morsels. I tried! We also did the one pan variety. Egg replacer isn't as sensitive as egg so we had no issue whatsoever. Thanks Nestle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
The on thing i found wrong with there is that the batter is better then the brownie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This brownie could be so wonderful, but I was very disappointed in the cook time . . . after 40 minutes they were totally raw in the middle; cooked another 5 minutes and still too gooey. Cooked almost 50 minutes to get the middle done (and yes, I know to take them out while still loosely set in the middle, but these were WAY undercooked at 40 and 45 minutes) and the outsides were hard and no longer chewy. I should have covered the outsides with foil to prevent over-cooking, but hey, if you have to go thru all that trouble, why bother with this recipe? Perhaps the oven temp of 325 degrees was a misprint? Maybe cooking at 350 would help? So, even after 50 minutes of cooking, these brownies are still not cooked in the middle. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Easy and delicious!!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tjl513
Home Town: Studio City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I have never made homemade brownies before. Too easy to pour a mix in a bowl... WOW - & this took only minutes more than a box!! They were GREAT! almost like fudge! I made them in a muffin tin, so I had to adjust the time, I took about 33 minutes. No more box mixes for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Made these as a treat for my chocoholic husband and I must say they are decadent! Had to bake for 45 minutes and they were still very moist when warm but firmed up nicely once fully cooled ... I served with a side of fresh strawberries and cream ... YUM!! Thanks for the recipe ... new favourite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SSHEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States