Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I have made this recipe several times and everyone who has tried it has totally fallen in love with it! It's my go to for special treats! I have also used the dark unsweetened cocoa in it for extra depth! Don't worry about the batter appearing runny; it thickens up when you add the bacon. I also added a beautiful mocha whipped cream frosting. It's very light and enhances the richness of these cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I like to bake and thought this recipe sounded good. Gave some to relatives, friends, and work associates. Everyone loved them but me! Who wouldn't love chocolate and bacon? That would be me. The cupcakes were such a hit that I would make them as gifts in the future...people raved!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Made these for my family(following the recipe exactly as written)but the overall decision was that the bacon added a strange texture and not a lot of flavor. Plus I thought that the bacon would still be crispy and unfortunately the bacon was very soft even though I almost burned the bacon. I'm glad that I tried this recipe but I will not be making these again. On a side note: the chocolate cake recipe is delicious without the bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I liked this but I didn't do a good job at crumbling the bacon. I would definitely do them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Freeport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
not impressed. made this recipe exactly to the letter and it did not turn out right. it ended up mushy and did not cook fully
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by melleyaguila
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This recipe was amazing! my cousin was having a pig roast party, and we thought that this would be very fitting with the theme. I made this cupcake recipe into a cake using 1 1/2 recipes yielding a 3 layer 8 inch cake. I used chocolate peanut butter frosting in between the layers as well as a coat of chocolate ganache between each layer. As an after thought a nice salted caramel could have worked as well. Do not be afraid to try this recipe, it'll be a crowd pleaser :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melleyaguila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Actually the flavor wasn't bad...just chocolate with bacon. I just wish it turned out more moist. They were dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
These are very good cupcakes. As lover of both chocolate and bacon, however, I thought they would be more amazing. The cake itself is delicious! Very moist and wonderful. I will use this recipe for chocolate cakes and cupcakes in the future for sure. I DO NOT like coffee, but have had chocolate cakes with coffee in them before and couldn't taste any coffee. You don't taste the coffee in this recipe either, just chocolate deliciousness. Also, I was surprised at how liquidy the batter was, but it turned out fine. I did beat the batter though instead of just "stirring until blended," stirring just doesn't seem enough when you are making a cake. People have raised the issue of texture. It is odd to me to have chewy bacon bits in a fluffy chocolate cake. I think that is the biggest drawback to this recipe for me. I always cook my bacon in the microwave (on several layers of paper towels on a plate). This makes the bacon very dry and crisp, not fatty or chewy like you get in a pan on the stove or in the oven. I think this helped the texture issue a little, but it was still odd to me. I used the Chocolate Butter-Creme Frosting recipe from Allrecipes. If I make chocolate bacon cupcakes in the future, I think I will make the cake recipe above without the bacon, but I'll mix the bacon bits into the frosting instead. I made these for my husband for Father's Day and while I think he'll like them a lot, they are not mind-blowing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Ive tried this recipe a few times, and everytime they were so YUM! Now you dont really tast the bacon in it, but the Bacon does inhance the chocoalte flavor. Always a party favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mayhap

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I made these at the request of friends. Very contemporary flavor combo. I love bacon dipped in dark chocolate, so I thought I would like these. They were pretty good. The batter was great, but in the finished cupcakes I could not taste the bacon as much. They were all consumed the first day I made them, so I did not experience the "chewiness" some reviewers complained about on the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Peanut Butter Bacon Cupcakes

What's cooking in Milwaukee? These cupcakes, also known as the Peanut Bomb!

Chocolate Cupcakes

These cupcakes are moist, delicious, and easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States