Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I made these at the request of friends. Very contemporary flavor combo. I love bacon dipped in dark chocolate, so I thought I would like these. They were pretty good. The batter was great, but in the finished cupcakes I could not taste the bacon as much. They were all consumed the first day I made them, so I did not experience the "chewiness" some reviewers complained about on the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I made these for Easter this year to mixed reviews. Most people's responses were something along the lines of "interesting." My 11-year-old (male) cousin really liked them. I followed the suggestion of baking the bacon instead of frying it to get it crisper, but it still was a bit "chewy" in the final product. Overall, this recipe is a really great chocolate cupcake recipe...just with bits of "stuff" inside (the bacon doesn't taste like bacon when it's in the middle of the cupcake). The bacon taste came through only via the bits I put on top. By the way, so that people could just try a bite, I made these into mini-cupcakes. It made over 80 of those, so if you're looking for a recipe that will make a large amount, this is the one for you! P.S. I used the frosting recipe from the back of the (Hershey's) cocoa powder, which I use all the time (usually with the cupcake recipe also found there), and it worked well here, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I was so excited about this recipe. I made this for an Easter family gathering. We all LOVE bacon and chocolate, have adventurous palates, etc. For some reason, the flavors and textures just did not work well together. The cupcake minus the bacon would be 4 stars, as it was delicious - tasty and moist. The coffee definitely worked well. For the expense and added work of adding the bacon, it was not worth it. I made exactly per the recipe with only one exception - crumbled bacon on top instead of a stick of it. Disappointing that I noticed several half eaten sitting on people's plates and no one wanted to take all the extras home. This is very unusual for me, as I'm accustomed to everyone arguing over who gets to take it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
These were very good. To add a little more bacon flavour I substituted 1 tsp of bacon fatfrom the cooked bacon for 1 tsp of vegetable oil. Also used 1 tsp of the bacon fat in the butter frosting I made. They turned out perfect. Not to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Just got done making these, took me no time at all...recipe was very simple. OMG I am not sure what some people meant by they came out dry etc. These are to die for! I am just waiting for my husband to walk through the door to try these! I threw the bacon in the pan and let it get real crispy....drained it and put on cutting board with a real good knife and chopped away. Any pieces that were not crispy I just put to the side. LOOOOVVVEED this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
These are good! I followed the recipe exactly, and I was a bit concerned that the batter was too runny, but they baked up beautifully. I made them for a bacon fiend and he loved them! Thanks for sharing the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I could not get rid of the tiny bacon bits and the kids were quite turned off. Will not try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
YUMMY!!! Thank You for posting this recipe I saved money making this recipe instead of going to a cupcake shop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
it was good. better than I expected. not a bad combination would prefer not to feel the chewies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Everything's better with bacon......even chocolate! Added some chocolate chips, the drippings from the bacon for flavor and didn't want the coffee in it, wasnt lookin for a cappuccino effect, just added some more milk........wow yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cupcakes

These cupcakes are moist, delicious, and easy to make.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States