Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by aprilseventh
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
L O V E D it! I used a chocolate sour cream frosting, and it tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharon Brideau
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Just finished making them, fantastic and not too sweet. This one is going into my personal recipe box. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Brideau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Ok, this has to be the best chocolate cake recipe I've ever tried. I liked these cupcakes with the bacon, but I have come back to this recipe over and over again without the bacon. It's super easy, which is a big deal to me, one bowl so minimal clean up, and the end result is beautiful every single time. Seriously, we love it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I almost wept at the first bite! These were DELICIOUS!! I made homemade icing, but it actually took away from the deliciousness of the actual cupcake, so we ate the rest without icing. The texture was amazing; the taste made everyone sigh with pleasure (all three kids were begging for more). This is one of the best cupcakes we have ever eaten (and I've baked for 40+ years). For those turned off by bacon (though I can't understand why!), you can omit the bacon and this would be the best chocolate cupcakes ever. So glad this was featured or I would have NEVER attempted this recipe. Since we prefer them without icing, my husband suggested we could call them muffins because muffins are healthier, right? ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
The second time I made these, I omitted the bacon and added mint flavoring (1 tsp for 12 cupcakes.) Even my oldest who doesn't like chocolate cake thought they were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisa2roberto
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I've been wanting to try these for a long time! Very simple and tasty. I recommend frying bacon as suggested. I baked mine and think the crispness of fried bacon would have been tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Photo by ibbz
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Made these as written. Everyone loved them. Texture is great, smell is wonderful, flavor is top notch. We could taste the chocolate, hint of coffee, bacon on top was a great touch. Chocolate Coffee Buttercream Icing recipe on this site was perfect topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
These never fail to impress. VERY good chocolate cake recipe without the bacon. WITH the bacon, it's something unique. I add a spoon of espresso powder and make a chocolate buttercream to top these. I have found that NO ONE dislikes them. About half the people who try them are underwhelmed with the bacon chunks (including myself) and half are just WOWed by them! This is why I call it 5 stars. Solid crowd-pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DwayneNAnne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Husband loved these interesting cupcakes for his birthday abd they were Fun to take to work and have friends try- I made them with a dark chocolate frosting-yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Ok, on that first bite I wasn't quite sure what to think. After the fourth cupcake I ate, I can say they are amazing! I topped mine with a classic chocolate buttercream frosting. I also shared these with my family and friends and so far only one person didn't like them. My five year old even gobbled them up! In my opinion they are even better after sitting in the fridge overnight...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathrine Verner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Peanut Butter Bacon Cupcakes

What's cooking in Milwaukee? These cupcakes, also known as the Peanut Bomb!

Chocolate Cupcakes

These cupcakes are moist, delicious, and easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States