Dark Beer Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Made this exactly as stated and used Guinness, no one would eat it. It did not have that great of a taste and the texture was not very appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I was very excited about making this, but ended up being disappointed. The texture wasn't creamy enough, which is something I did wrong. I followed the recipe exactly, but didn't like the taste and texture. I may try this again, but omit the celery, carrots, and use cooked potatoes and cauliflower instead to give it a creamier texture. I would use chicken broth instead of the bouillon cubes because it was very salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Unbelievably good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Perfect! A huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Made this recipe exactly but omitted the potatoes and added mushrooms and smoked sausage. I thought it was a little too salty for my taste. Next time I will use the potatoes and use less parmesan cheese. Otherwise a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Very Good! I used an aged Parmesan Cheese..made it a bit salty. Would recommend using a less aged cheese or cutting back a bit. Otherwise great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I made this recipe exactly as stated and it began sticking to the pan. I salvaged the soup to another pan and added 3 T. of butter to aid in the sticking. (I was stirring frequently) It did not taste like the smooth creamy Beer Cheese Soup I have had before. Sorry but I did not find this appealing nor did my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Excellent Beer Cheese Soup. My wife has been begging me to make it again since its Christmas debute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Very good, but used Newcastle Brown Ale, and should have gone with a darker and sweeter beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I used a package of frozen diced potatoes with peppers/onions and that cut down on the chopping. Excellent soup, best I've found on this site for beer cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States