Darbey Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by RAYKATS
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Made this for the first time and it is awesome. Added some real bacon bits and it was a super hit with my family. So easy using the frozen bread dough. I've decided to take this recipe on vacation with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAYKATS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Malaga, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Amazing! Made a couple changes. Instead of frozen bread I used the basic bread recipie on JamieOliver website. That recipie will give you enough to make 2 seperate loaves. I didnt have Italian spices so I just used 1/2 tsp oregano, and basil. Also added 2 cloves of crused garlic and put cheese on top of the loaf. I increased the cooking time to 35 min and they came out perfect. Will make again... and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
OMG!! This is delicious. I only had one loaf of the frozen bread so I adjusted the onion and olive oil accordingly, but left the cheese and Italian seasoning as is. Very, very good!! I don't usually eat a lot of bread but my husband and son do. I could not stop eating this! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I didn't add the onions, buti t was still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
It was okay, but it tasted too much like stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abreitbach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Circle, Montana, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I used refrigerated breadstick dough for this recipe. It didn't rise as much as I would have liked and I'm sure this was the reason. (For that reason I will not remove any stars - I hate when people make changes then downrate based on it not turning out perfectly.) My husband loved this and I reheated the leftovers for several days. I do plan on trying this with the frozen bread dough in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
My family enjoyed this bread along with our spaghetti. I just threw together a loaf of Jay's pizza crust and used that instead of frozen dough. I cut down a little on the oil and made sure the onion was diced finely and didn't use a whole onion. Next time I may add a little garlic powder to up the flavoring, but it is a very good recipe as is and I would recommed everyone giving it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
This sounded so good and looked great when it was rising. But, the shredded cheese weighted the whole thing down and it got very greasy on the bottom and didn't cook all the way through (I only made 1/2 recipe). The very finely chopped onions didn't cook through and added a crunch that bread is not supposed to have. I don't see any way to save it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debster

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I cut the oil down by half as advised by other reviews, and I'm glad I did, that was plenty. I did use onions but they were all on the bottom of the pan after I cooked it, not sure if that was my fault but I didn't do anything different in the preperation. I used mozzerella and garlic powder too, not cheddar. This recipe is a great idea but definately needs some tweaking, and this is very versitile too (I like options). Also, bake this for at least 25 minutes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I made a few changes based on other reviews. I used 1 loaf of frozen bread dough, 1 tsp Italian seasoning, 2 tbsp olive oil, 3/4 cup shredded mild cheddar & a good sprinkling of salt. I baked it in a regular size bread pan and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States