Dansk Aebleskiver (Danish Doughnuts) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Tried the recipe and was able to turn them using two bamboo skewers to flip them. They needed to be eaten warm to remain puffed and deflated in sad wrinkled blobs when at room temperature. I don't think this is how they are supposed to be. Filled them with orange marmalade and lime curd and a little more batter to make complete doughnut. Are the photos of them right off the pan or ???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
We asked the server at a restaurant in Solvang what that delicious rasberry sauce they topped their Aebleskivers before dusting with powdered sugar. She revealed that they use a seedless rasberry jam and diluted it with orange juice. Very good !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I am also from a Danish line and we make this every New Years eve...the trick is to have it all done bt midnight for good luck...oh and thanks for adding the cardomom, most recipes don't include it but it's a must :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I really wanted to try these but I didn't have the special pan. I went ahead and used my cast iron skillet instead. I used a thin layer of peanut oil instead of shortening. The batter was thick enough that it made little pancake shapes but thicker. I fried 4 spoonfuls at a time and flipped them after a few minutes. They turned out tasty. They have a nice crunchy layer on the outside and a soft breadlike middle. Because I like a sweeter "pastry" I added a bit more sugar and I also added cinnamon. The cinnamon and cardamom play well together. My son liked them plain. My daughter liked them with the cinnamon/powdered dusting sugar. I liked them with my organic raspberry pomegranate jelly. My husband thought they would taste better in Denmark but he still enjoyed them. ha ha Overall these were pretty good and they worked just fine without the special pan. They would probably be better with the special pan since it would crisp all edges as well but it was manageable and tasty anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This is almost the same family recipe that I grew up with. we always filled them with a teaspoon of JAM! Once poured into the pan, drop a bit of jam in the center, and cover with just a tad of batter, and turn as usual. We just made these last night. As a child we made these all the time! On our(all siblings and cousins) wedding day we all were given the special "aebleskiver" pan, that my parents bought at Layman's hardware in amish country, Ohio!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5frys

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Proud Dan here, always looking for different recipes to try. These were fantastic, followed recipe exactly. Served at a slumber party, all the kids could not get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ragnhild

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This is my wife's account so take with a grain of salt. She is the real cook in the house. I heard about aebelskivers from My grandfather. He told us about eating them when the Skandinavian women would gahter to quilt. He made sure to show up at the house where they were quilting so he could get some. These women were from pioneering times in my valley. So began my search. I had a great recipe but lost it so I searched here and found this recipe. I didn't have the cardoman so skipped it. They turned out great. We have 7 kids. I could not keep up once I started serving. The only problem is a I need a second pan. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinckley, Utah, USA
Living In: Oak City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Perfect. Made a lot. Freeze well. Great with mulled win or "Glugg".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I absolutely love this recipe. I like it because I don't have to separate and whip the egg whites. I've made this with buttermilk and also by making your own buttermilk (curdle milk with lemon juice) - recently I also used the eggs in the carton, super easy and YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
I submitted this recipe and it was changed a bit when published. I just wanted to clarify that the aebleskiver pan is a cast iron pan with 7 rounded cavities about 2" wide and 1" deep. You would preheat pan with melted oil before starting to cook the aebleskiver. I don't know if there is an electric pan in existence or not, but my recipe is based on using a cast iron pan. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States