Dan's Old Fashioned White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I proofed the yeast in the bowl of my Kitchen Aid with the warm milk and sugar for ten minutes, then added the honey, the melted butter and the dry ingredients. I did use part whole wheat flour. I did need almost 1/4 of a cup more flour than the recipe called for to get it to form into a ball and jump on the hook. I kneaded the dough with the dough hook for five minutes. Once it was done kneading, I set it to rise in a covered, greased bowl on a warm heating pad until it doubled. I then used my 1/2 cup dry measuring cup to measure out balls, rolled them tight, and plopped them into 12 greased muffin tins. I let it sit on the warm heating pad covered with saran wrap for a half hour, then baked it at 400 degrees for 12 minutes. Out of the oven, I brushed each roll with vegetable oil to make a soft top. I got twelve GINORMOUS rolls out of this recipe (I made them bigger so that I would not have to use two muffin tins), instead of two loaves. This bread recipe is quite good. I was worried that the amount of yeast might not be enough but it rose perfectly and still made one of the biggest rolls I've ever seen. This bread IS a little on the sweet side, if you're looking for a more savory-yeasty roll, this may not be for you. My whole family loved it, it paired nicely with Potato Soup. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This was my first time making bread. The recipe worked well and the bread was very good. Be careful with the baking time. I needed about five additional minutes. I will do it again, by the way, my wife loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Somewhat too sweet and white for me. I lost the sugar and replaced 1 cup of bread flour with 1 cup whole wheat flour. To the poster who had to increase the time, I use a dial type meat thermometer and look for 200F. Also, oven temperature accuracy is quite varied, get a $3 thermometer that hangs from your rack, soon you'll just know how much you need to increase or decrease the dial.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I cut this recipe in half to only make one loaf. The entire family loved it. It is a nice hearty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
It is really good and it definitely disappears fast. So maybe I need a bigger mixer to do two batches..hahhahaha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Great bread for a baking beginner like me! I forgot the sugar, but with the honey it turned out to be plenty sweet. The only problems I had while making this bread were due to my own mess ups. A great bread recipe for those just starting out baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by navis09

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
This is a nice, slightly sweet basic white bread recipe which is exactly what I was looking for. I did make a change using dry milk and water in place of the milk. I'm just not a huge fan of the heating/cooling thing with the milk and prefer to just get the water at the right temp from the get go. It's a laziness thing (or just efficiency) I'm sure. I did this in my KA mixer. Tossed in the water, yeast and a little of the sugar, let it foam (maybe 10 mins) and then added everything else except the final cup of flour. Put the dough hook on and let the KA do all the work. When it comes together, I add the final flour a little at a time until the dough pulls away from the side of the bowl. Once its good, I let it knead for me on speed 2 for about 7 minutes. Then you can pick up in about the middle of step 3 here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Excellent bread. A bit of work kneading and worth it. Mine rose slowly (It's cod here today) but they filled out nicely just like his photo. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rockland, Maine, USA
Living In: Newton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This is by far the best bread recipe I have used. I made in my bread machine using the technique used in the Best Bread Machine Bread recipe to add the ingredients. Other than that I went strictly with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
a very good recipe I searched for awhile until I found the one I thought would be best for us and without a doubt I am happy with it and best of all my wife loved it immediately
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States