Danny's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2001
I was also raised on this type of mac & cheese. My mother used extra sharp cheddar and "chunked" it instead of shredding. She also added Italian Seasonings and garlic with Italian stewed tomatoes. My children now LOVE this and have become quite adept at making it themselves. We "fight" over the crispy top it makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2002
This is a delicious recipe. Easy and fast, too. ***** +
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
Oh man, did this bring back memories, just like mom used to make. Have made it several times now, first time added a little basil, and the second time for a change, added a sprinkle of cayenne...yum yum...for both..Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walkerton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This isn't quite mac and cheese as anyone who read the ingredients should know...That said, it's a top of the line quick, cheap and oh so yummy dinner. Use the italian flavored tomatoes for sure and cover with foil until mostly done. I uncovered it and raised the temp a bit to get the "crunchies" on top. It's my 11 year old son's favorite comfort dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Pietrzak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyons, New York, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
This is sooo yummy! With real cheddar, stewed tomatoes and pasta, what's not to love? It's not a very creamy mac and cheese, but it is very cheesy with a wonderful flavor. I used bow tie pasta instead of elbow macaroni and I kept it covered in the oven to keep the moisture in. It was such a quick and easy recipe - and it came out very well. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WarringEagle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Every time I make this recipe, my husband raves about it! He and the girls, 1 and 3, love it. It's great with cooked chicken inside and a cracker topping. (I use one sleeve of round buttery crackers mixed with melted butter sprinkled on top before baking.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Only because I make this all the time. As for the lack of creaminess many have complained about, while the macaroni is draining, simply had a half cup of whole milk to the pot, with a pat of butter, the grated cheese and allow to come to come to a simmer (no boil), then add the canned stewed tomatoes (you choose your personal favorite flavor) heat on medium then add the macaroni and let heat until heated through. No baking here. No cracker crumbs, no nothing else. It's a side dish at best. Once you start adding other ingredients, like onions, celery, etc., and baking it with cracker crumbs and additional grated cheese, it becomes a long drawn out process. This is designed as a one dish, "hey mom, I can make this in my dorm room" kind of dish. It can be made on a camping trip. STOP mucking it up with additions, another pot or pan, the requirement for an oven, etc. Gosh, way to "not keep it simple" many of you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozark, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Love this! Sometimes I bake it and sometimes I just heat it on the stovetop. Tastes great either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
Tasty and easy! Our 2 1/2 year old daughter loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2002
This recipe was delicious. I may try to cover it next time, as the top had dried but the bottom was still not totally melted. Very good though. The seasoned tomatoes are a must; it would have been too bland otherwise. THANKS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States