Danny's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2001
I was also raised on this type of mac & cheese. My mother used extra sharp cheddar and "chunked" it instead of shredding. She also added Italian Seasonings and garlic with Italian stewed tomatoes. My children now LOVE this and have become quite adept at making it themselves. We "fight" over the crispy top it makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
This is sooo yummy! With real cheddar, stewed tomatoes and pasta, what's not to love? It's not a very creamy mac and cheese, but it is very cheesy with a wonderful flavor. I used bow tie pasta instead of elbow macaroni and I kept it covered in the oven to keep the moisture in. It was such a quick and easy recipe - and it came out very well. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WarringEagle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2002
This is a delicious recipe. Easy and fast, too. ***** +
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2002
Quick and easy and very tasty. I served it with vegetables and it felt like a healthy meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
Very good. A bit dry though. I used low fat cheddar and diced tomatoes with 1 tsp. Italian seasoning. I think the flavor will be a bit more intense when using stewed tomatoes. My husband liked it so I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2002
This recipe was delicious. I may try to cover it next time, as the top had dried but the bottom was still not totally melted. Very good though. The seasoned tomatoes are a must; it would have been too bland otherwise. THANKS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
This macaroni & cheese recipe is quite good. I think its more of a mac & cheese "jumble" because the cheese & tomatoes never really mix and they don't coat the macaroni like a sauce, as they do in traditional macaroni & cheese. Still, it's incredibly easy, very economical and truly tasty. My only caveat: you may want to extend the cooking time, 1/2 hour might not be long enough, depending on your oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMI1Y

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
Oh man, did this bring back memories, just like mom used to make. Have made it several times now, first time added a little basil, and the second time for a change, added a sprinkle of cayenne...yum yum...for both..Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walkerton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
Tasty and easy! Our 2 1/2 year old daughter loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
My husband and I weren't impressed! I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States