Danny's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
As other reviewers mentioned, this is not a traditional, creamy mac 'n cheese. Though you could probably make it that way by adding in some cream cheese, etc. Anyway, after reading the other reviews, I added another 4 oz. of cheese (I used 2%, sharp cheddar), the italian style stewed toms, and also threw in a few dashes of garlic salt. YUM! Not gourmet, but cheap, yummy, quick and easy. And definitely family friendly...my 6 year old and 18 mos. old both loved it. Only other tips I would add is make sure to keep and include the juice from the stewed toms (will help with moistness/flavor), and I covered it with foil for the 30 minutes then boosted the heat and took off the foil for an additional five. Turned out wonderfully moist, and just a bit crispy in places on top. Thanks for the easy recipe...definitely a keeper for us! And something fun for the kids to make on their own someday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
I didn't love the recipe-but i'm not one to judge. Try adding more cheese to make the mac n cheese more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Quick and easy? Yes. Good? Not what we had in mind. Very flat taste and dry. Not creamy at all, and did not reheat for leftovers very well. Sorry, NOT impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
My husband and I weren't impressed! I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
Tasty and easy! Our 2 1/2 year old daughter loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
Oh man, did this bring back memories, just like mom used to make. Have made it several times now, first time added a little basil, and the second time for a change, added a sprinkle of cayenne...yum yum...for both..Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walkerton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
This macaroni & cheese recipe is quite good. I think its more of a mac & cheese "jumble" because the cheese & tomatoes never really mix and they don't coat the macaroni like a sauce, as they do in traditional macaroni & cheese. Still, it's incredibly easy, very economical and truly tasty. My only caveat: you may want to extend the cooking time, 1/2 hour might not be long enough, depending on your oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMI1Y

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2002
This recipe was delicious. I may try to cover it next time, as the top had dried but the bottom was still not totally melted. Very good though. The seasoned tomatoes are a must; it would have been too bland otherwise. THANKS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2002
Very good. A bit dry though. I used low fat cheddar and diced tomatoes with 1 tsp. Italian seasoning. I think the flavor will be a bit more intense when using stewed tomatoes. My husband liked it so I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2002
Quick and easy and very tasty. I served it with vegetables and it felt like a healthy meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States