Danny's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I made half of this recipe using stewed tomatoes with basil, garlic and oregano (froze the other half of the can, which works great!). My stewed tomatoes were really large chunks, so I chopped them up using my kitchen scissors. To make it a little creamier I melted the cheese with 1/4 cup of milk and a pat of butter, as suggested by another reviewer, then folded in the tomatoes and macaroni, along with some salt and pepper. I added a panko topping that I had moistened with melted butter and baked covered for 15 minutes and uncovered for 15 minutes. My topping wasn’t quite as browned as we like, so I turned the broiler on to get a little better color and crisp up the top. This was a new twist on macaroni and cheese for us. We liked it and I would make it again, but I would increase the seasonings. There just wasn’t enough in the tomatoes to season the whole dish, so I would add a bit more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I loved it! I thought it was very creamy. I used tomatoes with green chilis because I didn't have any regular tomatoes and it was very good! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Kz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I made this recipe last night and my family loved it!! I read the reviews about it being too dry so I added some low-fat milk to the macaroni before I added the tomato stew and it came out perfect! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Love this! Sometimes I bake it and sometimes I just heat it on the stovetop. Tastes great either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Only because I make this all the time. As for the lack of creaminess many have complained about, while the macaroni is draining, simply had a half cup of whole milk to the pot, with a pat of butter, the grated cheese and allow to come to come to a simmer (no boil), then add the canned stewed tomatoes (you choose your personal favorite flavor) heat on medium then add the macaroni and let heat until heated through. No baking here. No cracker crumbs, no nothing else. It's a side dish at best. Once you start adding other ingredients, like onions, celery, etc., and baking it with cracker crumbs and additional grated cheese, it becomes a long drawn out process. This is designed as a one dish, "hey mom, I can make this in my dorm room" kind of dish. It can be made on a camping trip. STOP mucking it up with additions, another pot or pan, the requirement for an oven, etc. Gosh, way to "not keep it simple" many of you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen Frusha-Boutwell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozark, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Every time I make this recipe, my husband raves about it! He and the girls, 1 and 3, love it. It's great with cooked chicken inside and a cracker topping. (I use one sleeve of round buttery crackers mixed with melted butter sprinkled on top before baking.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This isn't quite mac and cheese as anyone who read the ingredients should know...That said, it's a top of the line quick, cheap and oh so yummy dinner. Use the italian flavored tomatoes for sure and cover with foil until mostly done. I uncovered it and raised the temp a bit to get the "crunchies" on top. It's my 11 year old son's favorite comfort dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Pietrzak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyons, New York, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
As other reviewers mentioned, this is not a traditional, creamy mac 'n cheese. Though you could probably make it that way by adding in some cream cheese, etc. Anyway, after reading the other reviews, I added another 4 oz. of cheese (I used 2%, sharp cheddar), the italian style stewed toms, and also threw in a few dashes of garlic salt. YUM! Not gourmet, but cheap, yummy, quick and easy. And definitely family friendly...my 6 year old and 18 mos. old both loved it. Only other tips I would add is make sure to keep and include the juice from the stewed toms (will help with moistness/flavor), and I covered it with foil for the 30 minutes then boosted the heat and took off the foil for an additional five. Turned out wonderfully moist, and just a bit crispy in places on top. Thanks for the easy recipe...definitely a keeper for us! And something fun for the kids to make on their own someday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
I didn't love the recipe-but i'm not one to judge. Try adding more cheese to make the mac n cheese more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Quick and easy? Yes. Good? Not what we had in mind. Very flat taste and dry. Not creamy at all, and did not reheat for leftovers very well. Sorry, NOT impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States