Danny's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
this is my favorite mac and cheese, but i use velveeta and i also add a little sugar to the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chuckie j

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Classic comfort dish! I used Cooper Sharp cheese and did not have any problems with the consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Thank you. I've looked all over for a healthier macaroni and cheese recipe and this is the only one I could find. Very tasty and not as full of fat as most recipes for this dish are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
loved this - I usually do the flour, milk & cheese but I'd run out of flour and already had the macaroni cooking - so I was really glad to find this recipe......I added a couple of big spoonfuls of mild salsa as I also didn't have any stewed tomatoes - no, it wasn't creamy but just what I was looking for....my husband loved it and so did I and it was the first time I've served mac & cheese and he hasn't doused it in ketchup and we both had seconds so no leftovers! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane Boggs Colbert
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I halved the recipe also and basically did everything bellpepper did. I also added alittle fresh parsley. It was a nice change to regular Mac And Cheese, Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Boggs Colbert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aston, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I made half of this recipe using stewed tomatoes with basil, garlic and oregano (froze the other half of the can, which works great!). My stewed tomatoes were really large chunks, so I chopped them up using my kitchen scissors. To make it a little creamier I melted the cheese with 1/4 cup of milk and a pat of butter, as suggested by another reviewer, then folded in the tomatoes and macaroni, along with some salt and pepper. I added a panko topping that I had moistened with melted butter and baked covered for 15 minutes and uncovered for 15 minutes. My topping wasn’t quite as browned as we like, so I turned the broiler on to get a little better color and crisp up the top. This was a new twist on macaroni and cheese for us. We liked it and I would make it again, but I would increase the seasonings. There just wasn’t enough in the tomatoes to season the whole dish, so I would add a bit more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I loved it! I thought it was very creamy. I used tomatoes with green chilis because I didn't have any regular tomatoes and it was very good! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Kz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I made this recipe last night and my family loved it!! I read the reviews about it being too dry so I added some low-fat milk to the macaroni before I added the tomato stew and it came out perfect! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Love this! Sometimes I bake it and sometimes I just heat it on the stovetop. Tastes great either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Only because I make this all the time. As for the lack of creaminess many have complained about, while the macaroni is draining, simply had a half cup of whole milk to the pot, with a pat of butter, the grated cheese and allow to come to come to a simmer (no boil), then add the canned stewed tomatoes (you choose your personal favorite flavor) heat on medium then add the macaroni and let heat until heated through. No baking here. No cracker crumbs, no nothing else. It's a side dish at best. Once you start adding other ingredients, like onions, celery, etc., and baking it with cracker crumbs and additional grated cheese, it becomes a long drawn out process. This is designed as a one dish, "hey mom, I can make this in my dorm room" kind of dish. It can be made on a camping trip. STOP mucking it up with additions, another pot or pan, the requirement for an oven, etc. Gosh, way to "not keep it simple" many of you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozark, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States